Hot Shredded Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit, I halved it, used canned chicken, one can of cream of chicken instead of mushroom, thinned it with about 1 1/2 cups of milk, used seasoning salt and some garlic instead of poultry seasoning, and served on toasted bread. If you made it this far, it was really good! :) My kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I use skinless, boneless chicken breast and cream of chicken and cream of celery instead of mushroom. It is a real winner at my house. Im making it for my sons graduation next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was great! I didn't have the exact ingredients on hand so I used a 3 pound can of cooked chicken, two cans of cream of chicken soup, a capfull of Mrs. Dash seasoning and the Ritz crackers. It was so fast and easy and everybody loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious! For all the "anti-mushy" folks: shredded chicken sandwiches are *supposed* to be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My family was not impressed with this recipe at all. It was too mushy. I would add more chicken and less crackers. Taste was also kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This IS an Ohio thing. I grew up on these sandwiches in the Newark area. Not all of Ohio has them. I didn't realize until after moveing around the country it is ONLY a central Ohio thing so I make these for my family. I do add garlic and onion powder with salt and pepper. Not ment to have a lot of spice flavor, just a good chicken flavor. Some places made theirs creamy (more soup, less crackers) others with less soup and crackers, less creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
For those who think it is too bland try adding a 10 oz bag of crushed sour cream and onion chips...if its too mushy try adding more cracker or bread crumbs....a little poutry seasoning will help kick it up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDYT411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
The best and soo easy to make! We add a few more seasonings to it (seasoned salt/pepper/ and a bit more poultry seasoning) this is an out of the world yummy sandwich!! The kids love it (even with the mushrooms in it! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafbuckeye1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
What a quick, tasty recipe! I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom soup and added some garlic salt, and then served on toasted hoagies. The mushy appearance didn't bother my husband or I. This chicken has a great flavor and is very quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made these and they were OK but kind of bland. I tweaked it next time I made it. So 3 stars for original but 5 stars for tweaking. I slow cooked 3 skinless chicken breasts all day in crock pot with chicken broth,garlic powder,& onion powder. Drained about 2 cups broth in cup set aside. Shredded chicken added one can cream of chicken and one cream of mushroom. Added cup of milk. Put some stuffing mix in baggy and rolled rolling pin over it to smash. Added them....mixed all together then added chicken broth to make it moist!!!! YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States