Hot Shredded Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This is Ohio comfort food at its best. In my experience, only Ohioans that have had this at every family function and the local Dairy Maid fully alleviate this recipe. Other people find it a bit bland. I have found that you can use 48 ounces of canned chicken; I rinsed the chicken before use. I have also switched up between cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soup. This is a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Olds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Slimy with very little taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
it's a childhood fave....Mom used to make this for us!!!I now make it for my family! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Tried adding BBQ sauce which was a little help but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Jornlin Fuerst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Wonderful if made just how the recipe reads. If you're like me and love spice, try adding Frank's Red Hot to it. Kicks it up a notch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great basic recipe. I grew up with these from Dairy Queen in Bowling Green, Ohio. (Thank ya, Chip)I don't know their recipe. After reading reviews I tried it again. I started with 4 lbs bone in thighs in my 6 qt crock pot at noon on low. Kicked it up to high @ 2PM until 5:30PM. I let it cool in a colander reserving all the broth in a 2 cup measuring cup (about 2 1/4 cups). I shredded it as fine as I could and put in back in the crock pot. Added: 1 can of cream of chicken soup,1 can of undrained chicken noodle soup, the broth. I don't really measure stuff, but added about 3 TBSP McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Chicken seasoning,1 1/2 TBSP garlic powder, 1 TBSP onion powder. A sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers. Mixed well and warmed it on low for a couple hours. Everyone said it was awesome. I live in Phoenix, AZ. No one had ever had it before except me. I was even impressed with the taste. With 2 packs of hamburger buns ($0.89 ea)and the chicken on sale cost of $0.87 per lb I figure I spent about under ten bucks for 12 - 14 sandwiches. The mixture turned out moist but firm too. It didn't soak the buns. It could also be used as a dip with tortilla chips or the Ritz crackers served in soup bowls? Hmmm..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevePhillips

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I am from Ohio and I can agree that this recipe is also a Ohio recipe. It was awesome! I use the soft honey buns from Nickels bakery to make these. Also they have these sandwiches in most drive ins in Ohio. I think best I have tasted are at a drive in called Fred's rootbeer stand in Canton, Ohio. This recipe taste just as good. I would not change a thing to this recipe. (Maybe ad a sandwich pickle to the bun). Lol! Mmmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this! So easy! I would eat this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Use 2cans chicken broth, 10 oz bag of sour cream and onion chips and 1cup mayo. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I had some extra cooked chicken and thought about making shredded BBQ chicken sandwiches but saw this recipe. My kids love toasted tuna so I thought this would be a great recipe. I used cream of chicken and added some seasoning. The taste was Ok but the texture was like warm chicken pudding. Yuck. The only good thing about the meal was the veggie tray of peppers, celery, and carrots. I've never seen the boys be so excited about veggies. I don't think I'd waste the chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States