Hot Sausage Links and Beans Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Based on reviewers comments about the potatoes, I parboiled sliced potatoes (about 1" thick) before layering them in the casserole dish. I used leftover grilled hotdogs (thought the smokey flavor would be nice), and added diced red bell pepper and Tony Chachere's seasoning to the onion mixture. Added the cheddar cheese with 10 minutes left. Big hit with the kids on a rainy day! Next time, I will add the worcheshire to add some additional kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used hot links and cut the sugar just a little and used home fried potatoes it was like the best beanies and weenies you'l ever eat. It was great for the super bowl party. Would also be good for a summer barbecue instead of baked beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Entiat, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I diced my potatoes (5 of 'em) unpeeled & didn't cook them ahead of time. I added a can of corn after the spuds, used 16oz pkg turkey kielbasa; sliced & omitted the brown sugar. I used Bush's Grillin' Beans Southern BBQ flavor & 8oz extra sharp Vermont cheddar on top all in a 13X9" pan. It's cooking for 1 hour....we'll see..... :) It came out of the oven on the "juicy" side. Good flavor; great for chilly nights. After removing a serving, I tilted the pan & spooned out the extra juice & it was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is AWESOME!! I used Smoked sausage & Ketchup instead of BBQ sauce. All it needs is cornbread to go with it! YUMMY... the whole family loved it, even the in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
we used spicy link/sausages, next time I will use regular. I modified the recipe, only because I love using my crock pot. I sliced the sausages up in 1/4 slices, grabbed a bag of frozen diced purple onion and placed those 2 items in the crock pot placed on high for 3hrs. I then sprinkled oregano etc on top. I then used 2 large cans of Baked beans, added garlic powder, salt, pepper, worcestershire sauce, mustard and stirred together. place on top of sausage in the crock pot and cooked on low for an hour. I opened the lid to thicken the mixture. I baked O'brien potato's in the oven and sprinkled cheese on top the last 10 min. and it was delish and we will definitely have this again. thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a yummy dinner for when it is cold outside. I used a Texan style spicy sausage and cubed the potatoes rather than slicing them, as the recipe specified both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
as is, the recipe is very good, but far to sweet for me. thats why i rated a four. but i tried it again and did what others suggested (half brwn sugar and half oregano) and it tasted even better. it was really simple to make. i loved all the diff. flavors. add your cheese at the end, or its prob ganna burn. after that, rate it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Awesome and EASY ~~ use canned or leftover baked potatoes. Adjsut the flavorings to your liking. I added almost no sugar because we don't anything real sweet. The biggest time saver is that we slice, cook and freeze the sausage when we buy it so it is ready to go. This was perfect in the oven and in the crockpot if you don't have cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was really wonderful! I made some modifications. I cooked this in my slow cooker. I cubed a bunch of potatoes and placed those in the bottom, layered sliced onions on top of that. I browned the sausage (I used the regular sausages cut up, not the skinny links). Placed the sausage on tops of the onions and my sauce mixture over the top. I added a little more BBQ sauce and used 1/4 C. brown sugar. I added a little Worchestershire sauce and prepared mustard as well. Hubby said the meal was PERFECT! Also I used fresh herbs for everything. Will deffinitely make this again, will be especially good come Fall and Winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
My bf and I both really enjoyed this recipe. It was full of spice & flavor. It's not very messy or difficult to make if you plan it out ahead of time. I started by chopping the potatoes and putting them to boil. Then I chopped the onions, garlic, & the sausage while I was boiling the cubed red potatoes. I also pre-mixed the spices so that it would be ready to go. Once you start sauteeing the garlic and onions it all goes pretty quick so you need to be prepared. The directions were a little ambiguous, but I think just on the cooking & cutting of the potatoes. I took another reviewer's suggestion of putting the cheese on for the last 10 minutes & it was perfect. The final product is a little soupy, but who said a casserole had to be dry & stay all stacked up nicely. I am thinking of next time adding some zuchinni or squash & maybe some french fried onions to add some different flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States