Hot Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Made this with cream of celery instead of mushroom, and it was, in my husband's words, "Awesome." Very simple and easy to make. It was a little soupy. Maybe next time I may use cooked rice and omit the can of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was AMAZING. If I could give it 100 stars I would. I just got the Jimmy Dean's hot pork sausage to save money and it was sooooo good. I didn't change anything, made it exactly as was. I thought it strange it didn't have any seasoning, however the spice from the sausage really brought all the flavors together in an amazing way. I loved how this recipie did not include cheese, it seems like a lot of casseroles do. We ate the left overs for 4 days after and each day the flavors just got better and better! Am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
When I was chopping up the onion and green pepper I thought it was going to be way too overpowering, but it came out really great. I agree with the previous review that it comes out a little soupy, but the flavor is amazing without any more seasoning than what was in the sausage. This one is one we will be cooking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe with a few twists and within a week, my picky girlfriend wanted a repeat. The changes I made were to substitute the celery for 2 large carrots (chopped), added a jar of red roasted peppers, and 1 extra can of cream of mushroom soup. It's a great and fairly easy recipe to make...highly recommended. One note, the sausage can make a world of difference. The first round, the dish came out pretty spicy and second round, not so much...only change was the type of sausage used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
was amazed that this recipe was so good. It being such a simple recipe, I didnt expect to love it so much. I did omit peppers because I hate them with a passion. I didn't have celery so that had to be omitted as well. Thought my omissiond would leave the meal bland but it didnt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used Italian Sweet Sausage (it was what I had), I added mushrooms (since I had them on hand) and totally blanked on the bell peppers (DOH!). But even with those modifications, it came out really well! I think the bell peppers would have added a nice taste/texture, but I forgot to grab them when I got out all my veggies to cut. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Hubby liked more than me. I did sub low fat soups so I am willing to try it again with the reg. condensed soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is such a great and easy meal to make. My husband is not a big rice fan, so I substituted with egg noodles that I cooked before baking casserole. Only used a half can of water since noodles were already cooked. It came out great! Also added mushrooms. Just the right spiciness. My husband can' t stop raving about it. Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner my husband loved it, I liked it.. he loves casseroles! After reading some of the other reviews this is what I came up with.. 2 1/2 cups pasta (egg noodles) instead of rice 1 lb hot italian sausage crumbled seasoned sausage with: garlic powder, italian bread crumbs, oregano & adobo to taste 1 can cream of chicken soup 1 can cream of mushroom soup 2 small green peppers 1 medium onion put all into a casserole dish and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top heated all the ingredients on the stove prior to baking, bake 15 minutes at 400 degrees covered and a additional 15 minutes without the cover to brown. Came out great, like I said earlier husband loved it and I am sure I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States