Hot Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was awesome! Got many compliments at a recent party. This is a very tangy potato salad. If you don't like a lot of vinegar, cut back a bit. Also, mine didn't seem thick enough, so I added about a 1/2 tsp cornstarch to thicken. *Take note also- 6 red potatoes will not serve 8. Most red potatoes are rather small. If you use 6 med. red skinned potatoes it will serve about 4. I doubled the recipe and used about 12-14 med.potatoes. It made about 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWALTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Vista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was very tasty. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I omitted the egg. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
A very good, tangy red potato salad. I cheated a little by cutting up the potatoes and then cooking them in the microwave rather than boiling them. Very similar to a recipe I have which uses gobs of mayonnaise -- the same taste with MUCH less fat. Leftovers taste great cold or reheated. I'll definitely make the red potato salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is great if you like something with a vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT9
Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I omitted half of the bacon drippings. If I used them all the dish would be a greasy mess. Perhaps tasty but way too much fat. Also, the recipe should indicate the need to temper the egg prior to adding to the dish. You get scrambled eggs if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
this had a good flavor, but when I added the egg, it didn't thicken at all, just ended up more like egg drop soup. should've used corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Made this dish for a neighborhood party and ended up leaving it at home because it was not good at all. WAY TOO MUCH Vinegar! I had to look at the recipe 3 or 4 times when I saw my wife about to pour 2 full cups of vinegar into the mix(We dbld the recipe.) I ended up putting some mayo in it and some ranch dressing mix to five it some flavor and it was better but still too strong on the vinegar. Also the recipe using ALL the grease from the bacon which I think is just way too unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States