Hot Ponderosas! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good flavor but a bit too potant. I would use a little bitt less garlic, butter and pepper. I still give it a 5 for the flavor. But either you have to get a lot more bread, or use less topping because its a VERY strong flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made these in the oven since we were without a gas/charcoal grill at our vacation location. I recommend topping with the blue cheese after you dunk them. Love the saltiness and the garlicky crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Grilled bread with lots of flavor. I wanted to use up some leftover hamburger buns, so that became the bread base for these Hot Ponderosas. I mixed up all the ingredients, but omitting the cheese. I dipped the buns, both sides, into the butter mixture and then grilled one side. Once my DH grilled one side, I flipped the bread over and added the cheese and grilled the bottom side. I made 2 pieces with bleu cheese for me, and topped the others with feta cheese for the rest of the family. Served these with 'Summertime Tomato Salad' and 'Roasted Beer Butt Lime Chicken', both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was good and went well with my grilled ribeyes. I reduced the recipe to four servings and thought the amount of red pepper flakes and herbes de provence seemed to be too much so I reduced to a sprinkling of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Very good. Don't turn your back; they will burn quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This mixture is wonderful....i didn't have her deprovence so i substituted it with fresh rosemary and fresh basil. It was funny because yes we burnt these all so we tried again and only burnt some...think i wiill try the oven next..i love this mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
All I can say is awesome, awesome, awesome! My family (children included) fought over what was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was yummy! I used all of the ingredients listed, subbing a Italian seasoning for the herbes de Provence, which I did not have. I only had a little less than a 1/2 of a baguette, so I just eyeballed everything to taste, but I couldn't imaging those quantities for just 1 baguette, but that's my opinion. I cooked these under the broiler and that worked well. Loved the addition of the Worcestershire sauce, in fact, all of the flavors went together nicely! I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used this as a spread and broiled instead of dipping and grilling. Will add more blue cheese next time. I really liked the addition of the W sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
these were good but very rich. I never thought I would say: almost too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States