Hot Pizza Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Only one problem with this recipe! When guests begin a civilized cocktail hour, and discover this dip----they don't stop eating it! Appetizers are supposed to whet the desire of things to come, but this particular one, makes people want to forget the dinner, and just keep devouring this DELICIOUS warm dip. Thank you Dayna for sharing. After the first time I made this dip, I did add one extra step, that I think makes a noticeable difference. Before placing the Pepperoni on top of the mixture, I render out a lot of the orange (not too pretty) colored fat, by microwaving the Pepperoni, separately, for a bit on a paper towel, and then I place it onto the casserole. If I can't keep the "vultures" at bay, I may end up serving this as an entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Don't give up on this dip! When I was putting up the leftovers from the Super Bowl, I was surprised that no one ate much of this dip. It didn't taste much like pizza. I even added the spices to the cream cheese the day before. Well, I hated to waste the appetizer so I gave it another chance the next day and it was FABULOUS. Perhaps it needed 48 hours rest time or perhaps it needed to be baked first and then refrigerated for a day. All I can say is that after being heated the next day for the second time, it was a totally different dip. I served it with baguette slices but that wasn't the way to go. The saltiness of tortilla chips made a big difference. I think if you toasted the baguettes with olive oil and garlic salt as mentioned by a previous poster, that would work as well. The cooling of the dip was a bit of a problem. I think next time I'll add a bit of milk to the cream cheese to soften it. Bon appetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Don't ya just love watching peoples faces when they see something a pretty and interesting looking on the table? I must mention two of our best friends, Tony and RoseAnne and their kids, Gina and Andrea. They're obviously Italian and I just knew they'd love this dish. Ro, being very dramatic, looked at the plate and wanted to take a pic of it! She's a pip! Needless to say, this dip FLEW off the dish within no time! I took "Laura from Al's" advice and made this two days before. At times flavors really do need to get acquainted. I also added not only pepperoni to the topping, but regular Italian sausage and some onion too. I used my jar of Italian seasonings in addition to my regular garlic and onion powders. A thin chip won't work very well with this. Use something thicker like those mini seasoned bagel chips. Excellent Dayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Hot Pizza Dip I love this dip,the only thing I did different was to bake it in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes at 350*Will make this often,because my grandaughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
My guests devoured this dip in less than five minutes. Next time I'll make two. I mixed the cream cheese and herbs the night before and baked at 350 for 30 mintues. This recipes is fabulous and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
If you're a pizza person this is the dip for you. I omitted the olives since I dont care for them and pretty much used all the pepperonis that came in the standard sized package. I sprayed some PAM on vienna loaves and toasted them. I recommmend having this ready about 20 min before serving since the dish is really really hot and not manageable to spoon onto the bread. I've already made it twice! Also make a day ahead of time so the cream cheese sets with the spices and then bake on day two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I made this for Superbowl and this was a hit! My changes: I added 1 tsp dry italian dressing seasoning in addition to the seasonings called for, I left out the peppers and olives, and I used 6 oz of pepperoni instead of 2. I baked it for 25 min at 350. This is one that will stay in my recipe box as a favorite. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I wanted to try something different and this was a big hit!!! I added mushrooms and more pizza sauce which was tastey. I loved it with breadsticks instead of chips. I bought the Pillsbury breadsticks and halved them before I baked them! I will be making this a lot. Also, make sure to cook pepporoni or it is really greasy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Everywhere I go I am asked to bring this. I usually make two, one with just the veggies and one with pepperoni. I never had the grease problems others mentioned I use the sliced pepperoni from the deli and chop it into fine pieces. I Serve with French baguette. This is a quick yet delicious appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very good! I started this yesterday afternoon but didn't "touch" it until earlier this afternoon b/c some had mentioned it needed time to blend. Like reviewer "Emac," I had also added some mushrooms, a little more pizza sauce and also added a dash of garlic powder. In addition, I made a combination of french bread slices and "garlic pita bites" also from this site to do the dipping. Thanks Dayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States