Hot Pink Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was a fun, flavorful and colorful twist on traditional lemonade. I used a mix of frozen blueberries and strawberries only because I had already packaged them that way for Hubs' smoothies, but I have to admit I did like that combination. I simmered them for about 5 minutes in the 1 c. water but didn't add the sugar for the syrup because I was going to use Splenda (I find I don't like its taste once it's heated). I strained everything into my pitcher - the blueberry/strawberry mixture as well as the lemon juice. After adding the water and the Splenda I was pleased to find it a vivid hot pink! I like this. It's different. It's a little too tart but as the ice melts that won't be an issue - if you can wait that long. Interesting, I gave some to Hubs who was working out in the yard. His remark was, "It's good! I don't know what it is, but it's good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is delicious! I had some homemade blueberry syrup (made of blueberries, sugar, corn syrup and lemon juice) so I just cut the amount of sugar in half, and reduced the lemon juice....and threw in my syrup. It was a beautiful hot pink and was delicious. There is no need to strain the berries before serving as long as your pitcher has a strain option. The blueberries sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
this recipe is GREAT! me and my fiancee made it together today, i followed the recipe word for word (something i very seldom do) and looking back, there isnt a thing i would change, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beya-ish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Super!!! I just loved it. I did do the opposite though. I made the syrup with the bluberries, to break them down, and I added it to the lemon & water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I have made this lemonade countless times, though i do change things up by crushing the blueberries a little. We definitly love it at my house! Its cool and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joborne
Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I love seeing how many people like this recipe! Since posting this, our baby girl has grown into a little lady who adores anything pink and she's the biggest fan of this lemonade. I guess it would have been helpful to add that the reason we make it so sour and sweet is that we serve it over ice and it tends to water it down. I can see how drinking it "straight up" would be kind of puckery! So if you try this recipe, make sure to have it over ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I put the blueberries in the boiling mixture and it had a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I'd give this 5 stars for taste, but knocked it to 4 for the method. I couldn't get the lemonade to turn pink no matter how much I stirred and even shook with the (fresh) blueberries. I ended up having to puree and strain to get the color/flavor to come through. I would cook the berries in the syrup or just puree in the future. Wonderful taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Good.. but too lemony.. I lessened the sugar like how others said to.. but kept the lemon juice at the same amount! Big mistake!! It leaves a puckering taste in your mouth. But was still good. I added the blueberries to the simple syrup mixture and added the lemon juice to it.. it got a hot pink color, but I didn't taste the blueberries (am I supposed to?). I even added some extra (whole) bluberries and stirred it in! Still not blueberry tast.. I added the strained blueberries..a little taste.. but it wasn't enough! Next time, I think I will let the blueberries just sit in the simple syrup and put it in the fridge so it will absorb all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Delightful drink. This is so fun to watch the lemonade turn pink. I cooked the blueberries with the water and sugar and then added the lemon juice to that. I then poured the contents of the pot through a strainer into a pitcher with water and ice. This way, there was also very little pulp, which my kids liked. I used Splenda instead of the sugar. Will definitely make again - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States