Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is a tremendous sauce. I would recommend this to anyone growing hot carib/various habenero peppers. Very easy to make but use caution protecting your eyes, sking when chopping peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this Pepper Sauce today, and I must say...it is the hottest I've ever had! But here's the difference...it also has a lot of flavor. Some people like just heat; but if there's no flavor, then it's no different than a mouthful of fire. I didn't change anything at all since it was my first time making it. But maybe next time I will use just 10 habaneros so some of my friends will be able to eat it without bursting into flames! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very easy very good very HOT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have little experience with hot sauces, but I saw this and wanted to make it for my hubby who loves anything hot. However, I took someone else's suggestion to only use 10 peppers. I was, at first, disappointed because I tried it and could tolerate it (I'm a bit wimpy). The taste was wonderful, but there was only a little heat. Then it hit me. Wow! This stuff is fantastic! I love it and it was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I am making this sauce again today for the second time in 5 months. My husband loves it! So does my son and I. It is amazing made like buffalo wing sauce. Melt a stick of butter with a cup or so of sauce and simmer. It tones down the heat a little, which is not said as a good or bad thing because obviously people who make this sauce LOVE hot food, it's just simply a fact. It just happens to be that it is an amazing combination warmed with butter, and is fantastic on crispy wings or as a dipping sauce for tenders or grilled chicken (or pork). Trust me, try it. Use as much butter or sauce to your liking-you can't go wrong. Also, this stuff is amazing straight up on mac and cheese! Wow! We are addicted to that combo. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This sauce is easy to make, just follow the directions. The only thing I did, differently was to blanch the peppers in a half cup of vinegar first, then I continued with the recipe. My family loves hot sauce, and they love that this sauce makes you sit up and notice the food! It has the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very easy to make! Had great flavor and a good lingering heat. It would be great with a piece of grilled white fish. I used frozen mango chunks and omitted the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wow, I feel just like the other reviewers, great taste/flavor to go with the heat. My husband likes the hot sauce in the family and I usually stay away, as most are just fire in your mouth. I made this and it was accepted by everyone. I did not use Habaneros, I have a garden and tons of hot peppers ( 5 or 6 kinds) and was running out of things to do with them - this was fantastic. I really think the Mango and green onion does something for these hot peppers, we have had it on chicken, fried pork chops, with chips, I made a curry meal and we ate it with that. My husband took it to work for others to try, it is gone and I am ready to go and pick some more peppers. You will not be unhappy. Thanks for a great receipe. NOTE: I tried to make this and process it in a pressure cooker like I do other things, it did not taste the same, it was not bad when we opened the jars, but it seemed to be fermenting - tiny bubble inside, not sure why, or what was reacting with what - but it altered the taste, much better fresh - will try freezing some next time I make a batch and see how that does. WE REALLY LIKE THIS SAUCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
we were super disappointed with this recipe. We cut the peppers down to 10 like some of the other reviews, but it was still WAY to hot. So we made a second batch and cut this one down to 4 peppers, which made it tolerable, but we didn't care for the flavor. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
has anyone tried canning this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States