Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe is excellent with some changes. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of mustard powder, I didn't have limes so I used about 1/4 cup of lemon juice, I also used a 16 oz can of sliced mangos drained and rinsed. I used 12 habanero peppers. Everything else was the same as the recipe. Great taste and flavor and will be making this for years to come. Try this recipe and you won't be disappointed. Definitely do not use 1/4 cup of mustard powder, that is just silly or wrong!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love hot sauce and made this one. It is one of my favorites if not the number one! I've tried alot of different hot sauces and this one has the best flavor as well as having a great kick. The freshness of the lime and onions lend tremendous flavor and the curry sets it apart from most other hot sauces. LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When I submitted this recipe it somehow was changed..only 4 TABLESPOONS of dry mustard is the correct proportion...NOT a quarter of a cup!!!!......hope this is helpful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this for a friend who wants a HOT sauce with LOTS of flavor. She went NUTS over this and this is now her favorite! It's awesome over fried chicken or added to almost anything! The different flavors of the curry, mustard and lime truly enhance the habanero peppers and create an amazing balance. I had 45 peppers so I doubled the recipe plus the extra peppers, but still only used 1 1/2 cups of the vinegar to bring out the lime taste more. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I wanted this to work very badly so I followed the instructions to the letter. I even had the missus help me out. The recipe made 4 1/2 cups and smelled putrid. I blended, mixed and even put it through the grinder to try and "thin-it-out." The concoction was still very thick. I put it in some chili to see if I mixing it with food would eliminate the smell and add some flavor. No way! The overpowering MUSTARD taste and smell was still present. Think about it, a quarter cup of Dry Mustard. Perhaps if it was eliminated the recipe might be good. I didn't even use the entire quarter cup because I ran out. The mixture tastes like a Vodka Mustard Schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huntclan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe! Used 15 whole pepper from the garden, did not bother to seed. Great kick and superb flavour. Blended for 6 mins to make sure the seeds were crushed.Ignore the bad review, this was probably from someone who has not developed the heat tolerance or can understand how heat and flavours work together. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
has anyone tried canning this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
we were super disappointed with this recipe. We cut the peppers down to 10 like some of the other reviews, but it was still WAY to hot. So we made a second batch and cut this one down to 4 peppers, which made it tolerable, but we didn't care for the flavor. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wow, I feel just like the other reviewers, great taste/flavor to go with the heat. My husband likes the hot sauce in the family and I usually stay away, as most are just fire in your mouth. I made this and it was accepted by everyone. I did not use Habaneros, I have a garden and tons of hot peppers ( 5 or 6 kinds) and was running out of things to do with them - this was fantastic. I really think the Mango and green onion does something for these hot peppers, we have had it on chicken, fried pork chops, with chips, I made a curry meal and we ate it with that. My husband took it to work for others to try, it is gone and I am ready to go and pick some more peppers. You will not be unhappy. Thanks for a great receipe. NOTE: I tried to make this and process it in a pressure cooker like I do other things, it did not taste the same, it was not bad when we opened the jars, but it seemed to be fermenting - tiny bubble inside, not sure why, or what was reacting with what - but it altered the taste, much better fresh - will try freezing some next time I make a batch and see how that does. WE REALLY LIKE THIS SAUCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very easy to make! Had great flavor and a good lingering heat. It would be great with a piece of grilled white fish. I used frozen mango chunks and omitted the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States