Hot Pepper Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great taste used less flour 2nd time had no lumps that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Loved it, fixed it exactly as stated but tempered the flour water mixture. Next time I would cut back on the sugar a little maybe by a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet, but will be. However, in reading over the reviews I am seeing that ALOT of people have no idea how to make a thickener even for basic gravy apparently! Put your flour and water mixture in a gravy shaker (Pampered Chef or any other cheaper brand even) and shake till the mix is smooth. There will be no lumps!!! Or you can whisk vigorously in a jar or small bowl for the same results. NO NEED TO ADD MORE WATER TO THIS RECIPE! I am rating this 5 because I am quite sure I will like it (and because you can't post anything on here without clicking the stars!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Everyone loves this. My daughter's boyfriend go through so much of this that she claims he drinks it through a straw, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this last night, and let me tell you, it is absolutely amazing! I had no trouble with any lumps, clumps or any other issues. I have already shared several jars and they want to buy some from me! The thing about this you can kick it up if you want or have it mild, your choice. I would not change a thing! Thanks peachypie for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is the best hot pepper mustard dip. Took it to our friends last night for a get together and it was compared to a national brand and they said it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've made this recipe for 2 summers now and let me tell you, I can't keep enough around to enjoy myself! I now have friends asking me when I will be making it again. I adjusted the recipe a bit by cutting out the sugar altogether and using Splenda Blend instead so a diabetic friend could try it. The back of the bag says if a recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar, use 1/2 cup of Splenda Blend. I cut the amount of sugar down to 4 cups in the original recipe so I use 2 cups of the Splenda Blend when making a full recipe and it is perfect, with just enough sweetness. And I have also thrown in whatever kind of hot peppers we have on hand, even habaneros which gave the mustard a good kick. Last year when I made this was my first attempt at canning too and now you can't stop me! I just canned 6 half-pints of hot pepper relish yesterday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I just made 18 oz of this to try it before busting out 9 pints and it is the most delicious recipe I have EVER made from this site. We tried some Hot Pepper Mustard we bought in a store in Helen, GA over the weekend and we ran out in a day with Ham Sandwiches, Pretzels, and Brats.. I used Half a Jar of Hot pepper rings and a few Jalapenos instead of slicing myself. Also, I too had a problem with the flour water ratio but stirred until my arm almost fell off and they were barely noticeable. FANTASTIC!! Gonna make a larger batch this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe that takes well to modifications. I added one jalapeno, used 6 tablespoon of cornstarch as seen in another review. This change makes a more appealing texture. Also incorporating both brown and white sugars gives it a bit of a different flavor and the color turns out wonderful. This is the best mustard, everyone I have given it too wants more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great recipe! I did make changes for dietary purposes (gluten free and sugar free household). I used 4 cups of Sucralose (TM Splenda) in place of the sugar to minimize the glycemic impact. I also substituted a 1/2 cup of cornstarch in place of flour because we are a gluten-free household. Finally, I used two cups of agave nectar in place of the honey (again, the glycemic index factor) and one of the cups of sugar. I heated the agave nectar up and mixed the cornstarch into it before pouring it into the pot, thus eliminating the cup of water. It was a little sweet to me - I'd prefer more of a bite of pepper/mustard - but the rest of my family and friends like it the way it is. In the future, I'd probably cut out some of the sucralose. Considering it was my first time making this recipe and making the dietary modifications on the fly and people really like it as it is, I'll call it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States