Hot Pepper Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this stuff is AMAZING. this is by far one of the best recipes ive made on this site. i used banana peppers from my garden and since they werent very hot i added a few shakes ( maybe1 tbsp) of cayenne. i made a big bowl and they were dipping hard pretzels and chips into it and it was good on the hot dogs good. this is almost a mustardy relish. went especially well on polish sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
DH and I are competing cooks, so when he tasted this after I made it and said, "It's delicious" I was ecstatic. It was my first time so I did cut the recipe in half and used 16 banana peppers with 4 jalapeno, leaving in some of the ribs for heat. I also used 2 cups of white sugar with 1/2 cup brown. Instead of just dumping in the flour/water mixture, I tempered it a little with the boiling mustard and it worked just fine. My yield was only 4 and about a quarter pints, but for the first attempt (and definitely not the last) I was very pleased! Thanks so much for the recipe - I wish I could give it more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
excellent! we used it as a pretzel dip and on ham sandwiches. definitely puts use to the peppers coming out of our garden! i'm going to be making this recipe with some hotter peppers next time for those that think they can handle it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!!! This is the second year we have used it and it is the best. One revision though, when you add the flour, it says to pour it in. The flour mixture is a thick paste and if you try to pour it in, you get lumps. Add some of the hot mustard to loosten it up. Fabulousrecipe...everyone wants a jar of our mustand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Love this mustard!!! I made a few changes... I used some jalapeño peppers as well, about 10. I also used some of the seeds in for a little more pop (in one batch I also added a few habaneros). I also used 3 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. I also added a T of white pepper. It came out a little thick the first time so I cut the flour to a cup leaving the water the same. I love it in burgers, hot dogs, pretzels, in my sloppy Joe mix and in my baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very good. Next time, I will add less sugar and maybe a habanero or two to kick up the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I absolute love this spread! i had this in ohio with some family friends and i have not forgotten about it since. i am so glad i found this recipie on this website. i'm ecstatic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prudence Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe...thanks! Followed recipe and had no issue. I did use a hand blender before hot water processing to make sure all lumps out as other users had said lumps had occurred but really did not see a problem with that. Loving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Way too sweet for me. I followed the recipe as written but if I made this again I would cut the sugar by at least half and maybe even add a dash of hot sauce. The sweetness totally overwhelmed the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious. If you are a beginner, make a half recipe the first time. To avoid lumps, use warm water to stir into the flour, and also add some of the hot liquid to the flour mixture before stirring into the mustard mixture. I use sweet banana peppers for the most part, with only a few hot thrown in...we like it low heat mixed with sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States