Hot Pepper Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm on my second batch this week......The first batch went so fast I don't know what happened. I'm doubling the next batch, processing it in half-pint jars then decorating the jars and giving it to our "adult" trick-or-treaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The first batch my wonderful husband and me made was going good until we added the flour/water, which turned into dumplings. The second time we mixed the flour with cold water and slowly added it as he vigorously wisked it for me. The second batch we also substituted some brown sugar for white. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The flavor of this mustard was excellent! I followed the recipe as shown, but had a problem when it came to mixing the flour and water. 1 and 1-2 cups of flour mixed with 1 cup of water created a dumpling-type thick drop batter and when I added this mixture to the boiling banana pepper mixture, it created lots of dumplings. I checked the recipe to make sure I had added the correct amount of flour and water, and I did, so I was disappointed. I tried to fish all the dumplings out before I put it in jars. I will try it again with less flour and and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
ok so i just made this entire recipe in my blender! i needed a quick pretzel dip and came across this. i used all the ingredients listed but didnt cook it cause i was going to use it right away. delicious! the only thing i did differently was added a handful of jalapenos i still had in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I bought what I thought was a yellow bell pepper plant, or at least that's what it said it was, and it turned out to be banana peppers and I had no idea what I was going to do with them! This mustard turned out perfect! It did get lumpy as I think I had too much flour but I threw it in my mom's old Hamilton beach blender right off the stove, just before I canned and processed it and it turned out smooth and yummy just like professional mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this stuff is AMAZING. this is by far one of the best recipes ive made on this site. i used banana peppers from my garden and since they werent very hot i added a few shakes ( maybe1 tbsp) of cayenne. i made a big bowl and they were dipping hard pretzels and chips into it and it was good on the hot dogs good. this is almost a mustardy relish. went especially well on polish sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
DH and I are competing cooks, so when he tasted this after I made it and said, "It's delicious" I was ecstatic. It was my first time so I did cut the recipe in half and used 16 banana peppers with 4 jalapeno, leaving in some of the ribs for heat. I also used 2 cups of white sugar with 1/2 cup brown. Instead of just dumping in the flour/water mixture, I tempered it a little with the boiling mustard and it worked just fine. My yield was only 4 and about a quarter pints, but for the first attempt (and definitely not the last) I was very pleased! Thanks so much for the recipe - I wish I could give it more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
excellent! we used it as a pretzel dip and on ham sandwiches. definitely puts use to the peppers coming out of our garden! i'm going to be making this recipe with some hotter peppers next time for those that think they can handle it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!!! This is the second year we have used it and it is the best. One revision though, when you add the flour, it says to pour it in. The flour mixture is a thick paste and if you try to pour it in, you get lumps. Add some of the hot mustard to loosten it up. Fabulousrecipe...everyone wants a jar of our mustand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Love this mustard!!! I made a few changes... I used some jalapeño peppers as well, about 10. I also used some of the seeds in for a little more pop (in one batch I also added a few habaneros). I also used 3 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. I also added a T of white pepper. It came out a little thick the first time so I cut the flour to a cup leaving the water the same. I love it in burgers, hot dogs, pretzels, in my sloppy Joe mix and in my baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States