Hot Pepper Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Found a great price on banana peppers at a local produce market, so I decided to give this a try and use as give-aways to friends and family. As recommended by another reviewer, I added a couple red mini bell peppers which gave the mustard just a bit of color (with no effect on flavor). I bought the inexpensive store brand of mustard which made this even more affordable. Made half a recipe, used 4-oz canning jars, and ended up with a lot of nice little homemade gifts. This will be a nice change from the traditional jams and preserves that we all give away so often. This should be absolutely delicious with one of the soft pretzel recipes on AR. UPDATE 4.12.12 Mixed this into some sour cream and served over freshly-steamed asparagus last night, and it was delicious. Also, mixed some of the mustard into mayonnaise for a really nice potato salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used 2.5 cups of white and 2.5 cups of brown sugar. I also used 6 Bhut Jolokia (Ghost Pepper) because I wanted it with a lot more kick - everyone raves about this mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My flour clumped really bad. I followed instructions. ???? It happened to my neighbor also. It was still really good. I love dipping hot soft pretzels into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is absolutely amazing! Don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Absolutely fabulous flavor..Perfect EXCEPT for adding flour. Had read previous reviews so tried to mix flour and water first time...Still got clumps. Second time I sifted flour....much better. The flour clumps are ONLY reason it's not a "5".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm on my second batch this week......The first batch went so fast I don't know what happened. I'm doubling the next batch, processing it in half-pint jars then decorating the jars and giving it to our "adult" trick-or-treaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The first batch my wonderful husband and me made was going good until we added the flour/water, which turned into dumplings. The second time we mixed the flour with cold water and slowly added it as he vigorously wisked it for me. The second batch we also substituted some brown sugar for white. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The flavor of this mustard was excellent! I followed the recipe as shown, but had a problem when it came to mixing the flour and water. 1 and 1-2 cups of flour mixed with 1 cup of water created a dumpling-type thick drop batter and when I added this mixture to the boiling banana pepper mixture, it created lots of dumplings. I checked the recipe to make sure I had added the correct amount of flour and water, and I did, so I was disappointed. I tried to fish all the dumplings out before I put it in jars. I will try it again with less flour and and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
ok so i just made this entire recipe in my blender! i needed a quick pretzel dip and came across this. i used all the ingredients listed but didnt cook it cause i was going to use it right away. delicious! the only thing i did differently was added a handful of jalapenos i still had in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I bought what I thought was a yellow bell pepper plant, or at least that's what it said it was, and it turned out to be banana peppers and I had no idea what I was going to do with them! This mustard turned out perfect! It did get lumpy as I think I had too much flour but I threw it in my mom's old Hamilton beach blender right off the stove, just before I canned and processed it and it turned out smooth and yummy just like professional mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States