Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Will teach me not to read the reviews, jelly not setting like it should. See how time treats it, but it should have set by now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Once combined with all the suggestions, this was outstanding! 1) Boiled for two minutes instead of the suggested one. 2) Kept the 5 cup limit of peppers, but used a mix of red and green bell, banana, jalapeno, and for a kick, one nalaga jokia! Had it on a bagel with cream cheese this morning and it was OUTSTANDING! The jelly was perfectly set, not too firm, not runny or "weeping." Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This jam turned out good for a first timer, but I thought it was way too sweet. Reading the other reviews, I doubled the amount of pectin (turned out a bit too much, next time I will use only a box and a half) and I tripled the Jalapeno's but still found it too mild. Next time I will for sure leave some pepper seeds in to liven it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was delicious. We used it as a topping for Chicken Flautas (also from this website). I modified the pepper ratios to suit our spicier taste. I used about 3 cups of jalapenos and 1 each of red & green bell peppers. Even after this modification, it was still sweet, I think I could have upped the jalapenos even further. I used 4 tbs pectin, and that was a very thick jelly. I think next time I will reduce to 3 tbs. I also used the inversion method to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I listened to the other reviewers. I used my food processor (which made it really easy), but then put in a mess drainer and pushed a lot of the liquid out. Then I took a handful and gave it another squeeze. Instead of vinegar, I used Riesling wine. I processed half and then trying in inverting method. Also, I'm wondering if people realize that a rolling boil, is not just a boil, but when you stir it, the liquid continues to boil. My consistency is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome! After reading reviews, I used 4 tbsp of pectin instead of three (3 tbsp=1 box)... the scrapings are already set in the bottom of the pan. I used a different pepper combo, since I had habaneros in the garden. Added 1/2 tsp of allspice and a pinch of cloves and nutmeg to give it a caribbean flavor. SO good, this batch isn't going to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
After reading all the reviews I was reluctant to make this jelly by the recipe but decided to try it and tweak it later as necessary. The only change to the original is that I used 2 1/2 cups jalapenos and 1 1/4 red/green bell. The jelly cooled to a soupy texture and I put the jars in my cabinet. 5 days later I took the jars out to see if I could "fix" the jelly and they were firmed perfectly. This jelly has a perfect combination of sweet and hot. Everyone who's tried it wants to take a jar home with them. Patience appears to be the key here but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now due to an overabundance of cowhorn and cayenne peppers in the garden, and its been great each time. I have had absolutely no issue with it no setting up...though the second batch did take almost 2 days to set. (I drained this batch so as to have a more clear jelly, though, so I figure this might have affected the set). I have cut the sugar by a bit over half each time, as I like my jelly hotter - and less sweet. TIP - if you want it to be hotter - leave in more seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe is Awesome. I've been using it for 3 years now and selling them at local farmer's markets. I do use 2 packs of pectin and use half a cup of jalapeno's instead of a fourth cup. I've made an all green and an red pepper version. The all red peppers makes a very pleasing looking jelly. People think I am using food coloring but I don't. At a half cup of jalapeno's per batch it's a medium-hot flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Boutte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I am just a beginner at this and I added the sugar in the beginning instead of waiting for the vinegar, pectin and peppers to boil. The first batch is runny and I'm praying that it hardens as it cools. However, the 2nd batch I made I followed directions and it was much thicker. I DID add the 2 boxes of pectin as people suggested I agree that it needs it! Farmer's Market here I come! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States