Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Recipe was great. I had no problem with the recipe as written in regards to it setting up. I as many others did played with the pepper varieties and just made sure it added up to 4 cups of peppers. I have received many compliments about this jelly and would make it again...if I can figure out my pepper mixture again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This Jelly is delicious! I used Surejell. The modifications were from other reviews. I drained the peppers after chopping and boiled the mixture for 2 minutes. It is a soft set jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made this jelly today. Only used 3/4 cup each of red and green bell pepper, then used only one average sized habanero pepper and then about 1/8 of a second one, so not much. Everything else I followed the recipe for. I also hand cut all of the peppers fine, but the habanero I very, very thinly sliced it and then cut it fine. Mine set up quickly and easily, no problems at all. It made four 8oz jars with a couple of tablespoons left over. The flavor is awesome, I promise!!!! I did not use and don't recommend putting any food coloring in it like some people may do, the red and green colors from the peppers with the almost apple jelly background color is beautiful just like it is. I give this recipe with my minor adjustments, a 5 star rating!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this recipe and it tastes just like I remember from the farmer's market in Birmingham as a kid. I think many are confused by the name because it's called jelly. The hot pepper jelly we had as kids was never set up. It's just a syrup like consistency you pour over cream cheese and eat until you're sick with crackers. The sweet and hot at the same time is so addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very good, first time i ever had pepper jelly. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
too sweet, needs more hot peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I make this over and over again and it's fabulous, but I do agree that 2 packages of pectin makes it set up so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great Recipe. The last reviewer is correct, you need two boxes of fruit pectin for it be be firn,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My rating is based upon the potential, not the original recipe. As written, it is VERY mild. Good, but mild. I had to change the amounts of hot peppers to get it to be hot. I kept the base 5 cups the same. With that being said, once I figured out how much hot peppers I needed to make it as hot as I wanted it, it turned out DELICIOUS! My husband, my brother, and myself are addicted to it! We have been putting it on pork chops, ribs, chicken wings (we are from buffalo...lol), sandwiches, etc. As far as setting, I doubled the amount of pectin and got a hard set. I prefer a more thick sauce set, so the next batch will only have about 4 tbsp of pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is addicting on cream cheese with crackers! The recipe worked perfectly for me, yielding a jelly that is slightly softer than common jelly recipes, but to put over the cheese, you won't want it any more jelled. Try it, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States