Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was my first time making jelly so the suggestions in the reviews really helped. I seeded the peppers and cut into strips and used the food processor to finely chop peppers. I used 2 cups jalapeno peppers and 2 cups assorted peppers (yellow, orange and red banana peppers, red bell pepper and green pepper (not bell). I did drain chopped peppers before cooking them. I also boiled mixture for 2 minutes after adding vinegar, pectin and sugar. I used the inversion method to seal the jars so I will find out in the morning if they sealed properly. I hope the jelly sets up but even if it does not it tastes fabulous. I can't wait to share my hot pepper jelly with friends and family. They love my pepper relish. My recipe actually made nine 8 oz jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wonderful stuff. I had no problem with it setting up. Make sure you bring it to a FULL ROLLING BOIL before starting to count time. If you have never done jelly before, you may not know that isn't just when it starts bubbling, but when it is white and foamy on top. I also chopped my peppers by hand. I used mostly Hungarian wax peppers, and then used regular bell peppers to bring my total amount of peppers to 4 cups. Can't wait to get some bagels and cream cheese to eat with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
PERFECTION! Simple to make and so tasty. I cut the recipe in half, used 1 and a half cup bell peppers and the rest was a mix of habanero and jalapeno peppers. This was the perfect combo of sweet with a follow up of spice. Better than any I've ever purchased anywhere. Pretty enough without added coloring, though I may add some red for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Just made this jelly today and it is fantastic. First let me say this is my second attempt to make jelly. The first was a strawberry last month and it also turned out great. Second I am 42 year old male. So if I can do it, anybody can its that easy. After reading the reviews I did make a couple changes. first I used the jalapeno peppers with the seeds and all as I tend to like things with a little more heat. Next I used 1.5 packs of Sure-Jell pectin per some of the reviews. I also boiled the liquid 2 minutes instead of 1 per the reviews and pressed as much liquid out of the chopped peppers as I could(I used a food processor). There was a lot of liquid and as I didnt have any type of cloth I put the peppers into a coffee filter and squeezed it out. Now for other newbies, I thought I missed something and went back to check recipe.4 cps peppers/ pectin and 1cp vinegar didnt look right in pan but it will come to a boil. Then adding 5 cups of sugar I never thought it would be any where near a liquid state much less come to another boil but it did I also added 15 drops of green food coloring for appearance. I followed the rest of the directions to the letter and it set and looks great and the taste is outstanding. The kids were a bit optimistic to try a jelly made with PEPPERS! after watching me make it but after I got them to try it they love it too. I WILL be making more very soon. I got the (6) 8oz jars and about 1/4 of another I put in the fridge. IT DIDNT LAST THE NIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used all red bell peppers and red jalapenos - very tasty and pretty red jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was my first time canning hot pepper jelly and I LOVED the consistency of this recipe. It is more of a syrup than a jelly, which is what I grew up on. Definitely add more pectin if you want an actual "jelly" consistency. I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because it is very mild and I prefer hot pepper jelly to have more heat, but overall a very solid recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
DOUBLE the PECTIN! Otherwise, perfectly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Delicious! Taught my mom how to can using this recipe. Some have said the had trouble getting this recipe to set. We used "low/no sugar needed" pectin. Maybe that's what did the trick, because ours set up beautifully. It did come out with tiny air bubbles. I've read that I may have let it cool too much before pouring into jars, or that adding butter may help prevent bubbles. Going to try that with my next batch, which will be soon, because this stuff is disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Recipe was great. I had no problem with the recipe as written in regards to it setting up. I as many others did played with the pepper varieties and just made sure it added up to 4 cups of peppers. I have received many compliments about this jelly and would make it again...if I can figure out my pepper mixture again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This Jelly is delicious! I used Surejell. The modifications were from other reviews. I drained the peppers after chopping and boiled the mixture for 2 minutes. It is a soft set jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States