Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I didn't have trouble with it setting up .i had an one box of sure jell that was way out of date so I used that and one new one , it made a very thick jell .i did this because a lot of people said that it didn't set up. It could use more jalapeño then 1/4 cup so I put a heaping tea spoon full of red pepper flakes and it could still used more . All in all I am happy with the way it came out. And will make it again but with more jalapeño and maybe some yellow peppers . I also didn't process it just sealed the jars and cooled . The tops are down so I guess it will be ok. Usually I use wax but decided not to this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is delicious! As suggested by others I increased the jalapenos to 1c leaving the ribs and seeds for some warmth. I had no setting problem with the 3 batches I've made so far over the past 2 weeks using the same ingredient measurements as stated -measuring 4c total of peppers and hand-fine-cut the peppers. The jelly looks beautiful with the peppers suspended throughout. I would suggest NOT to add food coloring. The natural colors look very festive and I would imagine more appetizing. I have served this with cream cheese and also with extra sharp cheddar & buttery type crackers (ritz, townhouse). I am happy to have found a new tasty homemade Christmas gift for friends. I am sure it will be well received. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Awesome pepper jelly! I do a lot of canning and this is an absolute winner. I used a combination of 3 1/4 cups red and green bell peppers and then 3/4 cup of yellow wax peppers (a bit hotter than jalapenos)--had the perfect amount of kick and looked gorgeous! I like my pepper jelly to be sweet at first and then for a little bit of heat to come on. My jelly set perfectly (I use Sure-Jell pectin)--a few tips: 1) bring to a HARD ROLLING boil (i.e., one that continues to boil hard even while stirring) before you dump in your sugar, 2) bring to a HARD ROLLING boil again after adding the sugar and let it boil for exactly 2 minutes after that, 3) doubling the recipe is okay, but don't do more than that at once--takes too long to bring that much food product to a hard rolling boil in the ideal time-frame for setting jelly. If you keep those three pointers in mind, it's a pretty fool-proof recipe and tastes AMAZING!!! This is my go-to midnight snack or party favor--people love this with Wheat-Thin or Ritz crackers and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This jelly is so delicious. I had no issues with peppers moving to the top, or with it not setting up. I see in one of the photos the peppers have floated, and those chunks are really large compared to what I used. So maybe people aren't chopping fine enough. I didn't even drain my peppers, just threw everything in the pot. Beware, the vinegar/pepper/pectin will boil very quickly! My jelly is a wee bit liquid after 24 hours (not much though), but another commenter said to wait 5 days or so for it to fully set. You have to use the larger package of pectin, I used the Bernardin one rather than the smaller Certo I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asahlin
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe, but I made a few modifications: I used three large bell peppers (red, yellow, and orange) and juiced two jalapenos and one habanero for the spice. I will play with the type and amount of peppers in the future to get different flavors and colors. The recipe didn't have the right amount of pectin, so I doubled it like a few others commentators suggested and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asahlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is the best hot pepper jelly I have ever tasted. I used hot peppers from my garden instead of jalapenos. It jelled fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Laurens, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made 4 batches of this jelly today, each varying the types of peppers and the degree of chopping (some processed in the food processor, some hand chopped). All four batches set up perfectly. I do love the flavor of the recipe's exact mixture of peppers, but it is not spicy. I made a recipe using 4 cups of jalepenos and it is spicier. I will use both!! One thing I wanted to note for those who are having difficulties with their jelly setting properly-- make sure to bring your mixture of peppers, vinegar and pectin to a good rolling boil (it still boils while stirred) before adding the sugar. After adding the sugar, return to a full rolling boil (this takes several minutes) and will be really frothy, bubbly as you stir it for exactly one minute longer. Then, remove from the heat immediately and fill your jars. I made over 100 jars of jam this week and this method did not fail!! Good luck-- enjoy your jelly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Making Pepper Jelly is extremely easy. If you look at this recipe it is basically 4 cups of finely chooped peppers. Any variety, your choice, combination of. I believe after reading other reviews the reason people are having difficulty with it setting up is that they are BLENDING the peppers in a blender instead of CHOPPING them FINELY. YOu do not have to strain the peppers if you follow the instructions and FINELY CHOP 4 cups of assorted peppers. RED/YELLOW/Green combinations make it really pretty. When using pour 1/2 pint jar of jelly over a softened brick of cream cheese that is on a pretty plate, serve with assorted crackers that do not have added flavors. ENJOY just DON'T blend the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Tried it, LOVED it!! People: CHECK YOUR PECTIN! If it is expired (out-of-date), Don't Use It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I used 3oz. Liquid pectin and patted dry all peppers. I also used 1/2 C white vinegar and 1/2 C fresh lemon juice. As I wanted a spicier jelly I used 4 large jalapeño peppers, 2 Serrano peppers, and 1/2 sweet green pepper to measure 1 and 1/2 C green pepper mixture. I seeded only half the hot peppers and it was perfect for my family. I used the same amount of sugar and followed instructions for liquid pectin. Twice a success!! Made 6 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States