Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow awesome recipe!! It jelled up super nice! I was worried about it setting nice because of all the reviews. So when i boiled it i brought it to a full rolling boil that couldn't be stirred down then started timing. Make sure you are stirring the whole time! ( and I added 1/2 Tbsp of cherry jello powder to it when it started boiling) thanks for the recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent base recipe. I used 2 green bell peppers, 2 red bell peppers to make 4 cups total. I used 6 serrano and 3 jalapeno peppers to make 1 1/2 cups total. Also, it needs to have a box and 1/2 of Sure jell or 1 1/2 pks of liquid pectin We could not wait very long and my husband and I ate 1 jar in about 3 hours. Just yummy with cream cheese, chips or crackers. Such a quick appetizer for company too. It truly is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was a really nice jelly. I read other reviews that said it did't jell, but mine did. I was soupy at first, but once it sits in the jar for 24 hours it has the perfect consistency. It wasn't as hot as I expected, next time I will add more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
it could take up to 2 weeks for thethe jelly to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe, it just needs one modification. Drain whatever combo of peppers you use, in a colander with a coffee filter overnite. This takes the excess moisture out and your jelly will jell! Whatever combo of peppers you choose the measurement must equal 4 cups of peppers, chopped, with or without seeds. So easy, it really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this according to the directions and it turned out perfect. Set up within 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nina702
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I just made this jelly. Turned out beautiful. It was really easy. I chopped it all by hand, I prefer it over food processing. I did add the equivalent of 2 packs of pectin and added some hot sauce and 2 Thai Chilies, which I took out before I filled the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made mine with red peppers and red jalapeños and a few red pepper flakes. I mixed the sure jel with 1 cup sugar and added it to the red pepper mix and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then i Followed the instructions, except I let it boil for 2 min. No problem with setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Flavor is 5 star but needs adjustments. Use Low Sugar pectic and it will set perfectly, just follow directions and let pectin set in pepper/vinegar mixture 5-10 minutes before cooking. I also adjusted pepper to be one cup green and 3 cups red/yellow/orange and have added more jalapenos in some batches to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this and turned out great. I used 2 packages of pectin after reading others comments and it made a nice jelly consistency. I also added in some red chili flakes. Loved it, will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States