Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe indeed, I used all sweet red peppers instead of a mix since that is what my family asked for. Like the other reviewers suggested, I used two boxes of pectin instead of one. Also, after boiling the jelly hard for one min (while stirring) I always remove it from the heat and then stir constantly for 3-5 mins. I can't remember where I read this tip, but it cuts down on the "scum" and helps the jelly set up. I haven't had a problem yet, unless I make a rookie mistake and don't add enough sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
THE best tasting pepper jelly! It is a little runny as written, but it is easy to pour over cream cheese. Might add an additional 1/2 box of pectin next time. But the taste is PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe. This is my first time making it and it turned out perfectly! Instead of using green bell peppers, I used 4 cups of red peppers. No problem with the jelly setting. I used 1 - 57g package of certo if that helps. I also pulsed the red peppers in a food processor and drained slightly prior to cooking. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I loved this jelly! I hate runny jelly and after reading other reviews about adding an additional pack of Pectin, or not... I opted to make this recipe with 1 and a half packs. I also let it boil for about 10 minutes. Consistancy was excellent, just they way I like it! It was delicious... will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This made a very pretty batch of pepper jelly. I made with two boxes which made this too thick for my liking so I will make again with one box only. I chopped the peppers with a pampered chef chopper - it does it quickly without causing too much juice. I also will use more hot peppers and less bell to create a little more heat. Thanks for the recipe. Made again 9-24-10 and only used one box as recipe indicated. By next day it had jelled very nicely. Chopped again with hand chopper which caused very little juice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I always double the pectin and let it boil a bit longer to be on the safe side. This recipe is AWESOME!!!! Also, I use all kinds of peppers-whatever I pick from the garden-hot and spicey every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I paid attention to the previous reviewers' suggestions to drain the peppers & increase the boiling time, and it turned out great! I just used a combination of sweet red peppers and green & red jalapenos from our garden, and the result is delicious and very pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe but I am rating it only 4 stars. 1. I thought the taste was really good but there was no heat at all. Maybe it was my jalapenos but I would have liked some heat to it. 2. While it was not the fault of the recipe submitter I am afraid I listened to all the reviews that said to use 2 pkg of pectin instead of 1. I think it was to thick for my taste. Overall though really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
made this for the first time! followed others reviews as I always do. I doubled the recipe (and the powdered pectin) so yes...four pkgs for a double batch! I also boiled for a min or two longer than stated! turned out PERFECT! and I am NOT an experienced canner at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cudda69
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I did listen to one reviewer who had said to use 2 packs pectin, which I did. Jelled beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States