Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this according to the directions and it turned out perfect. Set up within 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nina702
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I just made this jelly. Turned out beautiful. It was really easy. I chopped it all by hand, I prefer it over food processing. I did add the equivalent of 2 packs of pectin and added some hot sauce and 2 Thai Chilies, which I took out before I filled the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made mine with red peppers and red jalapeños and a few red pepper flakes. I mixed the sure jel with 1 cup sugar and added it to the red pepper mix and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then i Followed the instructions, except I let it boil for 2 min. No problem with setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Flavor is 5 star but needs adjustments. Use Low Sugar pectic and it will set perfectly, just follow directions and let pectin set in pepper/vinegar mixture 5-10 minutes before cooking. I also adjusted pepper to be one cup green and 3 cups red/yellow/orange and have added more jalapenos in some batches to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this and turned out great. I used 2 packages of pectin after reading others comments and it made a nice jelly consistency. I also added in some red chili flakes. Loved it, will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this a week or two ago, and I have gotten great reviews from everyone I gave a jar to. The flavor was wonderful. I used low sugar pectin with this recipe, and it set beautifully within a few hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I adjusted this recipe, but only because I have a jalapeno plant that has produced a ton of peppers and I don't have any bell peppers in the house. I added 2 cups of jalapeno peppers (chucky cut) into the Cuisinart and finely chopped them. Then I followed the recipe as written. My jelly set up nice and thick and it is oh so hot. Just like we like it! But I will warn others to use this jelly sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made two batches of this jelly, using chili peppers instead of jalapeno peppers. First batch was runny, so added more pectin to the second batch along with more chili peppers. Taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this is the 3rd year I have made this recipe. Thought it was just me who couldn't get it to set. I think the hot peppers react to the pectin differently. I just call it "runny jelly", and everybody loves it. I go half and half on the hot peppers vs bell. Only use red hot peppers (Cherry ) with red bells, and Jalapeños with green bells, and I give out a Christmas as the jars look festive. Mind you with going half and half, the jelly is very hot, we serve with cream cheese on a cracker, perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe was amazing!!!!!! Love the flavor! I did take others suggestions as stated. 1.) I drained the peppers as I was cutting. I put them in a strainer until I had them all cut and were ready to go in the pan. 2.) I used 2 packets of pectin instead of just one. Adding it right at the beginning was crucial. Turned out great. Looking forward to using these as Christmas gifts, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States