Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
anyone who has this not set should simply switch to Pomona brand pectin and use about 3 tsp calcium water and 2 1/2 tsp pectin. Pomona gives you much better instructions and I have not ever had a jelly or jam not set. You can thank me later ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
As suggested by many reviewers, I drained the peppers after chopping finely in the food processor; however, I couldn't bring myself to discard all that flavorful, peppery yumminess, so I put the pepper juice in my empty cooking pot and reduced it until it was thick and syrupy (watching carefully to not let it burn) then added in the vinegar (Bragg's), pectin (6 Tbl Ball brand), and chopped peppers (I used a total of 4 cups mixed red/orange/yellow/green sweet and chili peppers from my garden, with a greater proportion of hot chilies than specified) and proceeded with the recipe. I simmered it for 5 minutes before adding the sugar and bringing it to FULL rolling boil for a generous minute. Set up great and tastes awesome! Oh, I also added 1 tsp salt to the recipe, which combined with the existing sweet/hot/sour composition gave it a welcome added dimension. One more thing: I tried leaving some seeds in; they look interesting suspended in the jelly, but are tough to the tooth when eating it, so when I make this again I will minimize or leave out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I halved this recipe but still used a full pack of pectin. The jelly set up nicely. It wasn't spicy enough for my taste so next time I will add more jalapenos. Other than that, it's a great recipe. Even my husband who had claimed he didn't like pepper jelly liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I normally read reviews on anything prior to trying them out, this one I didn't and now I'm wishing I had!! One of my first recipes to try for canning and well FAIL!! Just like the other reviews mine turned out runny. I will now have to go back to the store for more pectin and lids. Hoping that is all I will need to do as I don't want to have to throw out 16 jars. SUGGESTION: edit recipe so that others especially newbies don't have this same issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is ridiculous... Why did so many people give this good reviews? I made two batches and followed the directions to a T. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I used 2-1.75 oz packs of jell and a full cup of jalapeños. Everything jelled and I almost got the heat I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow awesome recipe!! It jelled up super nice! I was worried about it setting nice because of all the reviews. So when i boiled it i brought it to a full rolling boil that couldn't be stirred down then started timing. Make sure you are stirring the whole time! ( and I added 1/2 Tbsp of cherry jello powder to it when it started boiling) thanks for the recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent base recipe. I used 2 green bell peppers, 2 red bell peppers to make 4 cups total. I used 6 serrano and 3 jalapeno peppers to make 1 1/2 cups total. Also, it needs to have a box and 1/2 of Sure jell or 1 1/2 pks of liquid pectin We could not wait very long and my husband and I ate 1 jar in about 3 hours. Just yummy with cream cheese, chips or crackers. Such a quick appetizer for company too. It truly is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was a really nice jelly. I read other reviews that said it did't jell, but mine did. I was soupy at first, but once it sits in the jar for 24 hours it has the perfect consistency. It wasn't as hot as I expected, next time I will add more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
it could take up to 2 weeks for thethe jelly to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States