Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
just read the recipe and when do you add the pectin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The two boxes of pectin worked out well. Please please please for you first timers like me wear gloves when handling the palapeno peppers. Ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Kephart
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just made this, I didn't read the reviews or I might have added more sure-jell but the jars have already sealed so I will check one in the morning but I think they will be ok. I used fresh peppers. I used what was left in the pot after filling 8 8oz jars on cornbread tonight and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kephart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I added 1 1/2 pkg of sure-jel and more jalapeño than recommended, plus I did strain with cheesecloth as many had suggested. Very pleased with the results!!now don't have to pay $10 per jar for this yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
anyone who has this not set should simply switch to Pomona brand pectin and use about 3 tsp calcium water and 2 1/2 tsp pectin. Pomona gives you much better instructions and I have not ever had a jelly or jam not set. You can thank me later ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
As suggested by many reviewers, I drained the peppers after chopping finely in the food processor; however, I couldn't bring myself to discard all that flavorful, peppery yumminess, so I put the pepper juice in my empty cooking pot and reduced it until it was thick and syrupy (watching carefully to not let it burn) then added in the vinegar (Bragg's), pectin (6 Tbl Ball brand), and chopped peppers (I used a total of 4 cups mixed red/orange/yellow/green sweet and chili peppers from my garden, with a greater proportion of hot chilies than specified) and proceeded with the recipe. I simmered it for 5 minutes before adding the sugar and bringing it to FULL rolling boil for a generous minute. Set up great and tastes awesome! Oh, I also added 1 tsp salt to the recipe, which combined with the existing sweet/hot/sour composition gave it a welcome added dimension. One more thing: I tried leaving some seeds in; they look interesting suspended in the jelly, but are tough to the tooth when eating it, so when I make this again I will minimize or leave out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I halved this recipe but still used a full pack of pectin. The jelly set up nicely. It wasn't spicy enough for my taste so next time I will add more jalapenos. Other than that, it's a great recipe. Even my husband who had claimed he didn't like pepper jelly liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I normally read reviews on anything prior to trying them out, this one I didn't and now I'm wishing I had!! Mine turned out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is ridiculous... Why did so many people give this good reviews? I made two batches and followed the directions to a T. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I used 2-1.75 oz packs of jell and a full cup of jalapeños. Everything jelled and I almost got the heat I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States