Hot Orange Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was good, it has a very nice flavor, but I like more cinnamon when working with orange. It does need work to make it better. DEFINATELY follow the last review about switching from 1/2 cup of melted butter to 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup oil, this is critical to making it better. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon not 1/2 t to the topping along with alittle zest from the orange. And to the batter, I added another 1/4 t and 1/4 t nutmeg, this makes the actual cake much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Simply wonderful!! Everyone agreed... used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe was very good. I added a shake of cinamon and I used orange juice from a carton pluss added the juice from the orange i used for zest. I also added my own glaze wich consited of powdered sugar orange juice vanilla and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is delicious! I made it the night before and heated it up in the oven for breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
It was pretty good. The orange and cinnamon did go well together, but the cake was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this cake and it turned out to be VERY dry and not very tasty either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I doubled the recipe and added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar and added my own favorite cinnamon/oat crumb topping. Instead of a 10" pan, I divided the batter into 12 jumbo muffin pans and the end result were very cute mini cakes. The cake itself was very moist and rose high but it was not sweet enough at all and was a bit too oily. If I had not added the extra sugar it would have tasted like bread. If you make this for breakfast and are not expecting something sweet it is ok but if you are comparing it to a traditional coffee cake it loses big time. I may try again with an additional cup of sugar and less oil and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was so tasty and light! I was a little worried about the consistency as I put it in the tin but it turned out perfectly. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The cake came out moist and tasted like orange cake. I'm probably going to throw some dried cranberries in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was really good, a little dry, but not too bad. I put a thin glaze over the top, which really helped, my boys LOVED it, they ate 1/3 of the cake in one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States