Hot Orange Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Simple and delicious! I made this as written, only adding a few thinly sliced oranges on top before sprinkling with the brown sugar mixture and a dusting of powdered sugar after it was cool (for presentation only). If you are looking for a sweet coffee cake, this one is probably not for you. It is only slightly sweet, and the orange flavor is very subtle. It is very similar to a recipe that I received from my husband's aunt, who is 100% Italian, called "Torta Orancia". The Italians generally don't like overly sweet desserts, and my husband, who is not a dessert eater, loved this. I used a 10" springform pan, and baked it for exactly 30 minutes, and it was perfect. It resulted in about a 1-1/4" high cake. If you like yours a little thicker, I'd recommend using an 8" or 9" cake pan, and adjust the baking time slightly. Will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is delicious! I made it the night before and heated it up in the oven for breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very easy to put together and tastes amazing when done. I got rave reviews from my friends and co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was so tasty and light! I was a little worried about the consistency as I put it in the tin but it turned out perfectly. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Simply wonderful!! Everyone agreed... used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The cake came out moist and tasted like orange cake. I'm probably going to throw some dried cranberries in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The cake was very light but needed "something". I put a tsp. vanilla in but may try a little more next time. Needed a little more topping too. The 10" pan was too big, hardly covered the bottom. I used an 8" spring form pan for the recommended time and it turned out perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was really good, a little dry, but not too bad. I put a thin glaze over the top, which really helped, my boys LOVED it, they ate 1/3 of the cake in one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
It was pretty good. The orange and cinnamon did go well together, but the cake was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe was very good. I added a shake of cinamon and I used orange juice from a carton pluss added the juice from the orange i used for zest. I also added my own glaze wich consited of powdered sugar orange juice vanilla and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States