Hot Orange Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very easy to put together and tastes amazing when done. I got rave reviews from my friends and co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Simply wonderful!! Everyone agreed... used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Simple and delicious! I made this as written, only adding a few thinly sliced oranges on top before sprinkling with the brown sugar mixture and a dusting of powdered sugar after it was cool (for presentation only). If you are looking for a sweet coffee cake, this one is probably not for you. It is only slightly sweet, and the orange flavor is very subtle. It is very similar to a recipe that I received from my husband's aunt, who is 100% Italian, called "Torta Orancia". The Italians generally don't like overly sweet desserts, and my husband, who is not a dessert eater, loved this. I used a 10" springform pan, and baked it for exactly 30 minutes, and it was perfect. It resulted in about a 1-1/4" high cake. If you like yours a little thicker, I'd recommend using an 8" or 9" cake pan, and adjust the baking time slightly. Will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is delicious! I made it the night before and heated it up in the oven for breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was so tasty and light! I was a little worried about the consistency as I put it in the tin but it turned out perfectly. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The cake was very light but needed "something". I put a tsp. vanilla in but may try a little more next time. Needed a little more topping too. The 10" pan was too big, hardly covered the bottom. I used an 8" spring form pan for the recommended time and it turned out perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
It was pretty good. The orange and cinnamon did go well together, but the cake was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The cake came out moist and tasted like orange cake. I'm probably going to throw some dried cranberries in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe was very good. I added a shake of cinamon and I used orange juice from a carton pluss added the juice from the orange i used for zest. I also added my own glaze wich consited of powdered sugar orange juice vanilla and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was really good, a little dry, but not too bad. I put a thin glaze over the top, which really helped, my boys LOVED it, they ate 1/3 of the cake in one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States