Hot Orange Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
It was pretty good. The orange and cinnamon did go well together, but the cake was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Simply wonderful!! Everyone agreed... used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is delicious! I made it the night before and heated it up in the oven for breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was good, it has a very nice flavor, but I like more cinnamon when working with orange. It does need work to make it better. DEFINATELY follow the last review about switching from 1/2 cup of melted butter to 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup oil, this is critical to making it better. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon not 1/2 t to the topping along with alittle zest from the orange. And to the batter, I added another 1/4 t and 1/4 t nutmeg, this makes the actual cake much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I doubled the recipe and added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar and added my own favorite cinnamon/oat crumb topping. Instead of a 10" pan, I divided the batter into 12 jumbo muffin pans and the end result were very cute mini cakes. The cake itself was very moist and rose high but it was not sweet enough at all and was a bit too oily. If I had not added the extra sugar it would have tasted like bread. If you make this for breakfast and are not expecting something sweet it is ok but if you are comparing it to a traditional coffee cake it loses big time. I may try again with an additional cup of sugar and less oil and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this cake and it turned out to be VERY dry and not very tasty either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe was very good. I added a shake of cinamon and I used orange juice from a carton pluss added the juice from the orange i used for zest. I also added my own glaze wich consited of powdered sugar orange juice vanilla and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very easy to put together and tastes amazing when done. I got rave reviews from my friends and co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was really good, a little dry, but not too bad. I put a thin glaze over the top, which really helped, my boys LOVED it, they ate 1/3 of the cake in one afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The cake came out moist and tasted like orange cake. I'm probably going to throw some dried cranberries in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States