Hot Onion Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These are quite tasty little rolls! The dough was one of the easiest doughs I have made yet. It was easy to roll out and rose beautifully. The end product was perfect. I served them alongside soup, but I think they would go well with just about anything. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made these to give this recipe a picture. They are very good. You will need more than 2 cups flour - I added additional flour 1/2 cup at a time, using a total of about 3 1/2 cups. Also - you really do need 4 large onions. I used the food processor to thinly slice the onions and then slowly carmalized them using 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons olive oil. You will need to bake longer than 10 minutes - mine took about 15. Next time I am going to add grated parmesan to the inside of the dough along with the onions. Thanks for a fun project. UPDATE: I just noticed that this is supposed to make 24 rolls - I made 12 - used a muffin tin and they worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I didn't have dry milk powder so I used about 3/4 cups of water and a 1/4 cup of milk. I also ended up adding 4cups of flour which was a bit too much - dough was a little tough. I used 3.5 small to medium sized yellow onions based off of other reviews. I would use at least 4 next time. Baked at 375 for 10 min. Then went up to 400 for another 6 minutes. This has the potential to be a great recipe, it just needs some tinkering. Went over well at the dinner party. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving last year and plan to make them again. This year I will try to make them vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
The trick to this one is to cook the onions at low heat for a long time until they are dark golden, sweet and caramelized! They make a delicious filling that way and you will be surprised at how much they shrink. THe recipe does say add more flour as needed, but it would help to see that on the ingredient list as well to remind cooks that 2 cups isn't all it is going to take to get the correct dough consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
More flour is definitely needed -- I used almost 4 cups. Any too many onions -- I used 3 and still thought it was too much. Using 1/2 tsp. of the crushed red pepper packs quite a bit of heat -- try 1/4 tsp. the first time. My husband LOVES homemade rolls and bread, but he didn't like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
very easy, very pretty. looks like you slaved in the kitchen for hours, they looked very sophisticated on my table. and tasted good, too! I will experiment with other fillings, thanks for the great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
The end result was really good, however, the recipe itself needed a lot of adjustments. First of all, you have to double the flour. There is no way you can get by with only 2 cups. Also, only use half the onions. 4 onions would be way too much. I also had to increase oven temp to 400 to get them brown. I will make them again, but now I know what to do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
These are excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Barilla® Rotini with Charred Green Onion Pesto

Rotini pasta with cranberries and charred green onion and toasted cashew pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States