Hot Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This dip was wonderful. Based on other reviews I changed the following; sauteed my onions first, added a sprinkling of red pepper flakes and used a 5 cheese blend (parmesean, asiago, romano, mozzarella and provolone..kraft makes this already shredded). I halved the recipe as I only had a few people over. They raved about it and of course wanted the recipe. I served the dip with vegetables and crackers. I also thought it would be fun to put the dip in a bread bowl. Will probably do that next time. Thanks for a fast,easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Etters, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a really great dip. I used 2 pkgs of plain cream cheese and 1 pkg of onion & chives. Easy to make and almost any cracker works with this! My ONLY minor complaint, it looks somewhat greasy. Next time, I'll serve in a hollow bread bowl to soak that up so no one gets turned off by it. Still, the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
PHENOMENAL! I cut the recipe to 1/3 (it was served as a late-night snack) and followed the measurements exactly. I put my chopped onion in the food processor and basically pulverized it. I then sauteed it in 1T of melted butter, and lightly salted the onion as it sauteed. Then, since this was a last-minute idea, I ADDED COLD CREAM CHEESE to the onions in the warm pan, and stirred in all the remaining ingredients (the parm was last) over medium low heat until it was smooth. I then baked it, and garnished it with chives. It was served with Sea Salt Bagel Chips from Trader Joe's, and was a hit! This recipe was so, so easy, and so, so delicious. Five stars, any day. This is being added to my personal recipes tonight! Thanks for sharing this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I changed the recipe a little. I used 1 8oz brick cream cheese, 1/2 cup mayo, 1 large onion, and 1 cup parmesan cheese. I served it for Book club and we ate the whole thing! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The other night, I had an "onion souffle" dip that a friend made. I emailed her to get the recipe but didn't hear back from her and wanted to make it tonight. I was sure it had onions, cream cheese, and mayonnaise in it along with parmesan or romano cheese. I looked for recipes with those ingredients, and this looked perfect. I reduced the ingredients (only 4 of us eating it) and was very happy with it. I think I would prefer to saute the onions before baking it next time. I'll have to try and see. But it was a hit, even with my son, who HATES onions! (I didn't tell him onions were in it, either.) This was fast, easy, and very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This was good and several people at the party said so. I won't give it "5 stars" because I reserve that for fantastic recipes. I will make this again, though, because it seemed to appeal to a large number of people. To my taste, it is a bit on the plain side. Also, it tastes best when warm and seems to cool off fast once out of the oven. Maybe try a mini crockpot next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Thanks for a great recipe! I baked it in individual ramekins (I had to broil it a minute at the end to brown it), and it was a great hit! Great with melba toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Wow! This was delicious. I served as an appetizer for Thanksgiving. Everyone was raving about it. I'll be making this again and again and again. Used 2 blocks of cream cheese, and 1 medium sweet onion. I sprinkled seasoned bread crumbs and paprika for a pretty presentation. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is a fabulous recipe. I have made it numerous times before I ran across it on "allrecipes", but I usually use a 16 oz. bag of frozen chopped onions that are thawed and drained in place of the raw onion. Works well with corn chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the best dip on the planet. I am asked to make this everywhere I go..Thanksgiving, Christmas for sure. One tip that is very important and makes a HUGE difference, make it a few days before, or at least one day. It helps soften the onions and dramatically helps the flavor. Refrig after making and then sit it out about 30 min. before baking. This is a keeper! OH...and I add a dash or two of tabasco...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States