Hot Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I tried a number of highly-rated recipes from this site for my Thanksgiving meal. This is the one that most lived up to the high rating. It's easy, good as-is (no modifications necessary), and works for both casual and elegant gatherings. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I personally thought it needed a stronger onion taste, but I used a sweet onion and if I had used a stronger onion, I think it would have had the taste I was looking for. The rest of my gang loved it and asked for the recipe, therefore I've rated it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is quick easy and everyone loves it! I have made about 4 times now and people think I am quite a cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I make this all the time now...it is great for large parties because it serves alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A friend of mine gave me this recipe a few years ago, and it is STILL a family favorite, and an excellent dish for a party or any social gathering. The recipe I was given calls for pre-packaged frozen onions (thawed and well drained) as others here have menitioned, and I have never ever known this recipe to be greasy or oily as some have described. Perhaps that's an "after-affect" when the onions are precooked? In any event, this has always been a no-fail favorite of ours, (and even a few over the years who claim they don't like onions!) I'd give this recipe more than five starts if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Russellville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VESNACSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I was given this recipe by an old friend a few years ago, and I've had to pass the recipe on to many other friends. Mine has a couple of very minor changes that might make a difference to those who didn't love the one posted here. My recipe calls for shredded parmesan which melts nicely. Mine also calls for 12-16 ounces of frozen chopped onions. I give my onions a couple of extra spins in the food processor before mixing in with the other ingredients. I also use 1/3 less fat cream cheese and light mayo. I always serve with a bag of Frito scoops --the really big Fritos for dipping. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This makes a good amount of dip. I have to say that it didn't go over well at first, so I had tons leftover. So I starved my family to force it down and they loved it more the second day after I reheated a little in the microwave. They said the flavors blended better together this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by womanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is incredible! I bring this to parties all of the time and am always asked for the recipe. I would agree that the onion is not overpowering. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I took others advice and browned the onion first, also added white pepper. My mom loved it and that's why i'm giving this 4*, but in my opinion it was a little bit bland. Maybe next time i will not brown the onion and will add some garlic and green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States