Hot Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Wow! Everyone went crazy over this and I had person after person asking me for this recipe. I reduced the amount of cream cheese down to 2 8oz. packages, I used 2 cups of shredded Italian cheese mixture, I also sprinkled in 1 tsp. of onion powder. The most important thing is to saute the onion in 2-3 tablespoons of butte for 10-15 minutes. So delicious. I serve with a toasted french bagette bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigAspirations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made a 1/4 of the recipe and added a clove of elephant garlic (about the size of a head of regular garlic)and a pinch of parsley on top. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This has become my signature recipe at parties. Everyone loves it -- even those who don't like onion. Make sure to use FRESHLY grated parm. The canned (even the stuff in the bag) has an anti-caking product that makes the final product kind of mealy. Can't say that I've ever had leftovers either. We usually serve it with sliced baguette and fresh veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is the best hot dip we have ever had. We make it exactly as it is written. No changes at all. We serve it with Frito's scoops. Our friends rave about it and always request it for parties. No one can keep their hands out of the serving dish...It's addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was nothing special. I didn't like it but my company did, although barely any of it was eaten. I made it exactly as directed except I added a litte bit of garlic. I topped with paprika and some bread crumbs as was suggested. This dip was dry, not creamy, and really just tasted like cream cheese and parm. I couldn't taste any onion. My company did not care for the Frito scoops - they said it was too heavy for the dip (takes away from the dip itself) and suggest tostitos instead. If I had to make any suggestions I'd toss in some sour cream and more mayo, and caramelize the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Makes a great cracker dip or spread hot or bake and then chill. Makes a realy good filling for a stuffed cherry tomato as well just bake then chill and pipe in with a pastery bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was so easy and really good... first tried for the Super Bowl now my husband asks for it again. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Easily modified this recipe to be a little lower in fat. The best part – it didn’t effect the taste AT ALL. We used low-fat cream cheese & reduced fat mayo. We also sauteed the onions (in cooking spray) prior to baking. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was a hit on Superbowl! Everyone loved it. I just reduced the recipe to 2 blocks of cream cheese instead of 3. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this dip for Super Bowl Sunday and it was a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! Will definitely make it again - I've even had 3 requests for the recipe! Just wish I had come up with it first, he he.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States