Hot Mocha Drink Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I think this is great. I used Splenda for baking instead of the sugar and it was very good but not quite sweet enough. The first time around I made the mistake of using cocoa I had in my pantry for awhile and it did not taste very good. But, I tried again with fresh cocoa, added a little extra coffee and splenda and it tasted great. Much cheaper than my General Foods Mocha! This time I made these changes: 1/2 C coffee and 1/3 C cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Not so great. This did not taste like anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I think that any recipe with chocolate benefits from a pinch of salt. It brings a great "depth" of flavor. Also, I prepare mine with milk instead of water. I think this is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I added more coffee and sugar as suggested by other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. We also added 1 tbsp. of raspberry syrup and that was even more delicious! We might try almond or peppermint syrup next time. We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This mix is really good. The only thing I would change is I will add a little more sugar next time. A little more sweetness would have been nice. Another thing I did was when the mix was stirred I used my coffee grinder to make the mix well mixed and very fine and powdery. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I did a half-batch using ½ cup sugar, ½ cup dry milk, ½ cup creamer, 1/4 cup cocoa, and I used 3 TBS instant coffee instead of 2 TBS. I heat a large mug (around 12 ounces) of half-water, half-milk in the microwave for 80 seconds and mix in 4 slightly-heaping teaspoons, and it is fabulous! It gets sort of frothy after stirring... Nice for a cold, rainy day! Thanks for sharing, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is a great mix. I put it in the blender to make the mix finer, and it turned out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Yummy! Perfect as is. Used 1/4 cup mix to 1 cup water. Rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Oh so good! Thanks for the recipe Rebecca. I don't drink coffee, so I really like having something else besides tea and hot cocoa. Followed recipe like stated with the exception of increasing the coffee slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Let me start off by saying, this was good. Now, I didn't give it 5 stars because although I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers (I added 1/2 c more sugar, increased the coffee by 1/8 c & added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon), I still felt like it needed a little something. I also measured out the sugar a day before & added 2 tsp. of vanilla and let it sit out until it dried. I think this added a nice touch but I still think it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States