Hot Mocha Drink Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was delish, but I used 2 cups of powdered goats milk in place of the 1 cup of powdered milk & 1 cup of powdered creamer to make it more natural with no trans fats and no preservatives, this made it nice a creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
YUM! I am not a coffee drinker, so I used my neighbors as "guinea pigs" to test this out. They both LOVED this and said it tasted like an expensive specialty / mocha drink from Starbucks!!! They convinced me to try a sip and I also loved it! Admittedly, the coffee flavor was a *tad* strong for my liking, but then again, I am not a coffee drinker. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find this lacking in sweetness at all (it was spot on for me). I left all ingredient proportions as is. My only change was to add a teaspoon each of ground cinnamon (per submitter's recommendation) AND vanilla powder because I love both. :) Since I am giving this as gifts, I added a c. of mix to holiday themed cellophane bags. I then dipped jumbo marshmallows in melted Andes mint chips and dusted them with peppermint snow. After they "set," I inserted a skewer thru each one and packaged 4 of them in another cellophane bag (turned upside down). I wrapped everything with a festive ribbon, two candy canes and a gift tag (with instructions printed on the backside). Because I prefer a creamy, chocolatey mocha, my instructions were to add 1/4 c. mix to 1 c. warm milk and top with a marshmallow! I can't WAIT to try this (with a minty marshmallow) myself!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rebecca! This is an easy, economical gift with a big WOW factor that I will turn to time and time again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
tasted very much of creamer. will re-try and use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I thought this tasted pretty good. The powdered creamer can definitely be tasted, but I find that with all of these mixes. Maybe, a flavored one would be better? I used the calculate button and changed it to 11 servings. It ended up strangely making enough for 3 servings though, at 3 leveled Tblsp. per drink. So, the full recipe would actually make about 18 drinks. I made the small amount just to try it first. The good part, was that I could use instant decaf instead of regular. On road trips, it is hard to find the flavored coffee/cocoa drinks that are caffeine free. This tastes a lot like those drinks that come out of those machines near the regular coffee. It also, more likely, has much less sugar. I figured the 3 servings, I made, came out out to be about 2 tsp. of sugar each. I am certain, the same ones I am talking about have at least 3 times that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Rich and creamy with just a hint of coffee. Even people who are not coffee drinkers will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
If you're looking for a mix that tastes great with just water, this isn't the one for you. Tried 3 tsp mixed with 5 1/2 oz hot water - way too weak. Tried 2 T mixed with 8oz hot milk and it was good. But it was more of a chocolatey flavored milk drink then. Not bad in a pinch, just not what I was looking for. TY so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't include the coffee but I did add a bit of cinnamon and salt to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I printed it as 2 serving sizes and had to triple that to get 1 mug of milk to be flavored enough! I think real mocha's have much more chocolate and coffee flavored! I guess it's fine for an quick easy fix. It was kind of lame compared to a fresher mocha . I think I'll give it another chance tho. 2nd try: Alright, this is a lil tasty. Definitely not very coffee flavored! 2 TBS of the mix into a hot mug of milk flavored it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Tasty but not very coffee-y. I added a bit more after tasting a cup. 2 1/2 T made a good tasting mug for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This hot cocoa is easy to make and yummy! We stopped buying the packaged stuff at the store once we found this recipe. You can customized your hot cocoa mix by adding in crushed peppermints or other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States