Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Used for peach shortcake. Have not tried the topping by Will the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I am a novice cook but, in my opinion, this was very bland and more sense than I expected. I beat the dickens out of it but it still was pretty dense. The thing is that I was making it for strawberry shortcake and when the strawberry mixture was added to the top, it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This recipe never fails. I have made it so many times and it always turns out well. I use this cake for strawberry shortcake. My mom requests to for her birthday to go with fresh strawberries from the garden. It is so simple and easy and versatile with fruit toppings. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is such a great recipe for those little sponge cakes you usually find in the grocery store for strawberry shortcakes! A very simple and easy recipe. Careful not to over mix once you add the flour to maintain a light and airy batter. Also sifting the flour/baking powder is very important. I made quite a few mini cake in a shortcake mould. Bake a little less time and grease your mould really well because I found they have a tendency to stick even when I thought I had sprayed the pan well with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domestikate

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by callmecupcake
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I just tried this recipe step by step perfectly. I have to say great texture, bland taste! Even after adding 1 tsp vanilla it was very bland. First recipe from this website to disappoint me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I had an old hot milk sponge cake recipe that my mom made for years and I continued to make. This one surpasses it by far! Love the broiled topping but recommend using pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
For the topping, I only added walnut and pistachio.... Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This cake has been our family's "birthday cake" as long as I can remember (& I am 68 years old). It originally came from my grandmother or great-grandmother (can't remember which). Although this recipe calls for it to have a broiled topping & many folks here have indicated that they use it as a strawberry shortcake, in our family we frost it with a fudge frosting (the kind that hardens like "fudge"). It is a simple but amazingly delicious cake!! The only thing that I will tell anyone looking to make this is to be sure to beat the eggs the full 4+ minutes and to SLOWLY add the sugar, beating another 4+ minutes (in my experience, the slow incorporating of the sugar takes at least 6-8 minutes). For the rest, don't overmix the flour into the eggs, mix just until combined and the same with the milk & butter. Be gentle with this and you will have a devine cake!! Oh, I do add a teaspoon of vanilla extract as well. If I'm making this for a "crowd", I double it and make it in a 9x13 baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great with fresh strawberries and real whip cream. I was only looking for the cake, not the topping so I didn't make that part. I heated the milk and butter in the microwave instead of a saucepan and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States