Hot Milk Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
FAST AND EASY TO PUT TOGETHER AND IS AGOOD BASIC CAKE FOR FRUIT OR ITALIAN CREAM FILLING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I have made this several times and enjoy it with fruit topping and whipped cream. The sponge cake is much lighter and tastier than normal shortcake. Great fast, easy. I bake it in a 8X8 square pan. Wonderful treat without tons of calories! Thanks Sandra!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This cake was phenomenal!! I put freshly whipped cream, pineapple, and toasted coconut on top, it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I really appreciate your posting this recipe; my grandma used to make it, and when we lost her, I thought I'd lost hot milk sponge cake forever! It was always my favorite thing she made for us, and I particularly appreciate the time indications you put in here--good job, and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I thought this cake came out tasting like it had a tad too much flour, and the cake itself wasn't as sweet as I was expecting it to be (minus the topping). Perhaps I made the cake wrong. The things I liked about this cake were the ease, simplicity of ingredients, and of course it didn't take long to put together. The brown sugar topping was great but I omitted the coconut, as I am not a fan. I would definitely make this cake again, but I will be increasing the amount of sugar I use in the batter (to 1 1/4 cups) and decreasing the amount of flour (to 3/4 cups). Overall, a keeper recipe, but slightly modified for my tastes. Thanks, Sandra! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This was simple to make and turned out very good. I used it in a trifle instead of pound cake. It is also good for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe was an absolute hit at a party I had. It had a great soft texture. I topped it with whipped cream and berries. Deeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
this was sooo good, and easy too !!!! my neighbor and i ate almost the whole thing. I added more coconut and brown sugar on top than the recipe called for but didnt change anything else. This is definitely a keeper and i will be making it again !!! thanks sandra for a great recipe ~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I baked a cake for the first time in my life this christmas! ... And surprisingly it turned out quite well. The only problem in it was ... it didn't fluff up. When I consulted one of my friends, she suggested I ferment it for about 5 hours before actually baking the cake. However, there is no mention in the recipe for the same. Can anyone help me out? ... Should I leave the cake for fermentation before baking it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was super moist, sweet, spongy and absolutely delicious! A keeper, better than my Moms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States