Hot Mexican Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this last night for game night and we all enjoyed it. I did not add the vinegar or black olives, otherwise made as directed. I did have to bake it for at least 30 minutes and stirred it several times while it was baking (my cream cheese was not soft enough). It was quite soupy but as it sat for awhile it got thicker. We could not stop eating this dip and liked it both thick and soupy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Weisiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Like others, I omitted the evaporated milk, olives and wine vinegar, and I used hot salsa. It was delicious, and people hovered over it saying "I can't stop eating it!" (including myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Awesome!! I also added a can of heated refried beans, cayenne pepper, some red pepper flakes, sliced green olives, and a couple drizzles of olive oil. I also used hot pepper cheese instead of the plain monterey jack cheese (we obviously like it spicy!) I think a half cup of evaporated milk is sufficient. This was sooo goood!! Will make again... maybe will add some black beans and corn next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Esposito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good. I will not add black olives next time because you couldn't taste them at all and it just wasn't necessary. I will add some taco seasoning next time to give it more flavor. I added very little milk to it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I am so glad I listened to the reviews that suggested using a spicy salsa. I had some fresh spinach I was trying to use up and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUKHASA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I needed to use a can of evaporated milk that I accidentally opened when another recipe actually called for sweetened condensed milk - BIG difference! Anyway, I was scouring the internet for a recipe that used it that wasn't soup and wasn't dessert, and found this one. It was surprisingly good, kind of like a queso-y spinach dip with some Mexican flavor. You can eat it with tortilla chips or with bread, both are great. This would be a great app for a gatherin, would be easy to double/triple as needed. Honestly, for what it is, I wouldn't change anything; it's nothing fancy, but it's a good tasting, easy throw-down dip with minimal preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made some changes to this recipe according to what I had on hand when I made it, but it came out great. My husband said it tastes like something from a restaurant. I omitted the black olives and the red wine vinegar. In place of just salsa I used one ten oz. drained can of Rotel tomatoes and about 1/3-1/2 a jar of salsa. And I used Colby Jack cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Topped with grated parmesan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great alternative to ordinary spinach dip. I too use a Mexican cheese blend. Make sure you omit the evaporated milk, it makes the dip too runny. Also the number of serving is way too large. I scaled it down to make for a group of seven and ended up having to double the amount I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this in hopes that people would rave over it because it got so many amazing reviews. I followed the recipe, using tips from the reviewers to omit the evaporated milk, and i also substituted black beans instead of the olives. I highly agree that evaporated milk is not necessary because it was already soupy enough without it. The dip was good enough, but no one really raved over it, and not many people touched it. It kind of had a sour aftertaste to it, and the appearance wasn't too appealing...it looks pink when the salsa and cheese are mixed together. I've had better spinach dip recipes before, so I think I will stick with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States