Hot Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I've been feeling cruddy today with a sore throat and swollen glands. I needed something to not only comfort but soothe. My grandma used to make this for me when I was a kid and was sick. I made this for one, using half of a lemon and a little more honey. This is just what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was perfect for my sore throat. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1 cup water, 1 tablespoon honey, and juice from a whole lemon. Very soothing. I will definitely be using this every time Im sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
sub the rum for vodka!!! **delicious**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My mom always made this when I was sick. It's perfect for a sore throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I had to double the lemon juice and honey (too weak otherwise) but after I did, this was pretty tasty and really helped my husband's sore throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I had a chill and this took it right away. My husband had a full blown cold and said this was very comforting. We used 2 cups of water as we wanted it nice and strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Great when my kids were sick! I left out the rum though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This recipe really soothed my throat, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is something my Mom used to make when I was little and had a cold - it brings back nice memories :-) She used a splash of red wine instead of rum. Even without the alcohol it's a great hot drink w/ no caffeine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
My Oma used to make this for me when I was a kid and nothing tastes better when your throat is sore and raw. I cut the amount of water down to one cup but kept the lemon the same. Very comforting Paula....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States