Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Okay this recipes ROCKS!!! It's super easy and it taste sooooo authentic. I live in Europe and I even like it better than the meat market sausages here. I made sausages and made sandwiches with them....YUMMY!!! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This is a wonderful sausage recipe. We buy a whole peice of porc and grind it ourselves to be able to control the quality and amount of fat. We use it in pasta and on pizza and even as a breakfast sausage patty. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This was my first attempt at homemade sausage and I wasn't too crazy with the outcome of this recipe. My sausage didn't seem to have enough flavor (not like the store bought) and I had to add quite a bit more salt than what the recipe calls for. I did scale this down to 8 because I only had about 2 lbs of pork and I didn't have the anise so I left it out. I added some onion flakes but made no other changes. I tried this with spaghetti and the sausage was very much over powered by the tomato sauce. Probably won't try again, but glad I gave it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
made this for my son's 8th grade graduation party & everyone loved it!!! It seems to taste sooo much better fresh though...Once you freeze the patties, hubby says the flavor is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cassville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I made this recipe several times now and it is great! I took it to the butcher when I slaughtered a pig to see if he would make some up for me and he says he loves it too and might start using it instead of his recipe. It's about the best I tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is one of my standard freezer items now. Mix one pound of sausage with a big can of tomatoes and a little water, simmer and voila - an easy and awesome sauce for a lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Different and fun project. We made these up a few weeks ago and barbeques some this weekend. I'd like to play around with the spices some more as they seem to need a little something. Overall good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Well, what can I say but awesome hot Italian sausage. I worked in Italian restaurants for 7-8 years and ours was never this tasty (although we would buy it in from local Italian butchers/deli's. I scaled down this recipe to 4 servings (1lb pork) just to see, I will buy 2-3 pounds next time and freeze in individual portions. I could not find the anise seed so simply left it out and was fine without. I compared this recipe to a few others I saw and could not believe the amount of peppers fennels used in theirs, way too hot, you want a nice hot taste you can enjoy while still tasting the pork like this recipe gives, perfect! you don't want to blow your head off, what for? might as well just cover a plain burger/sausage in tobasco!! I also just had this plain on a portuguese roll(can't find good Italian bread here apart from ciabatta) no butter no onions or peppers, with sausage this tasty you don't need anything else really. Thanks (UPDATE) I just scaled this recipe to 12 portions(3lb pork) don't do it, the ingredients are all wrong! the pork says 3 pounds which is 3 times the original recipe I made(1lb porkbut all the salt and rest of ngredients has been multiplied by 4!! way too salty, couldn't believe it. So, scale down the recipe to 4 or 8 servings but not 12 as it is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Great recipe, I'm so glad I found it. I live 70 miles from the nearest meat department that makes this sausage, so having this recipe makes my travel alot easier. Recipe is good as is but I like extra "kick" in my sausage so I cut the ground Pork in half (to ten pounds) and left the rest of the ingredients the same. YEEEHAAA! Will never buy this sausage over the counter again. Will only make my own with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was actually quite easy to make. I halved the recipe and froze the sausage in links, patties, meatballs and in 2 lbs. in bulk. We had some of the meatballs in sauce and they were great. Very flavorful, we will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States