Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
We used beef becauswe we don't eat pork. It was okay but not quite what I was expecting. Not at all spicy Had to triple spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Outstanding flavor Very authentic Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very good.. I scaled down the recipe to two pounds and used ground turkey and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This sausage was alright, I would not consider it hot though. Something still was missing, my search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
not enough fennel or hot pepper to rate as a hot italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This recepe took first place at a sausage cook off for out local Sons of Italy in America Club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The sausage turned out wonderful, however it was not as hot as expected. The recipe calls for paprika, is that sweet or hot? It was unclear, but wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was actually quite easy to make. I halved the recipe and froze the sausage in links, patties, meatballs and in 2 lbs. in bulk. We had some of the meatballs in sauce and they were great. Very flavorful, we will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Great recipe, I'm so glad I found it. I live 70 miles from the nearest meat department that makes this sausage, so having this recipe makes my travel alot easier. Recipe is good as is but I like extra "kick" in my sausage so I cut the ground Pork in half (to ten pounds) and left the rest of the ingredients the same. YEEEHAAA! Will never buy this sausage over the counter again. Will only make my own with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Well, what can I say but awesome hot Italian sausage. I worked in Italian restaurants for 7-8 years and ours was never this tasty (although we would buy it in from local Italian butchers/deli's. I scaled down this recipe to 4 servings (1lb pork) just to see, I will buy 2-3 pounds next time and freeze in individual portions. I could not find the anise seed so simply left it out and was fine without. I compared this recipe to a few others I saw and could not believe the amount of peppers fennels used in theirs, way too hot, you want a nice hot taste you can enjoy while still tasting the pork like this recipe gives, perfect! you don't want to blow your head off, what for? might as well just cover a plain burger/sausage in tobasco!! I also just had this plain on a portuguese roll(can't find good Italian bread here apart from ciabatta) no butter no onions or peppers, with sausage this tasty you don't need anything else really. Thanks (UPDATE) I just scaled this recipe to 12 portions(3lb pork) don't do it, the ingredients are all wrong! the pork says 3 pounds which is 3 times the original recipe I made(1lb porkbut all the salt and rest of ngredients has been multiplied by 4!! way too salty, couldn't believe it. So, scale down the recipe to 4 or 8 servings but not 12 as it is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States