Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This recipe is just super! I have use it in pork and turkey mostly, depending on what I have on hand. I has a really authentic blend of spices that I just love. Most of the time I just do small batches, and then I use a morter and pestal to blend the oil, fennel, red pepper and anise. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is definitely a goto in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Just outstanding! I have been searching for a great homemade italian sausage, and this is most definately THE best one I have found after trying dozens. Go for it, it will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I needed some sausage but didn't want to go to the store. I scaled to use 1 pound of meat and substituted ground turkey and ground cayenne instead of red pepper flakes. Tastes great and easy! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great recipe. Gave it 4 stars because it need to work on the spice combo some more. First I scaled down the recipe to 20 servings, omitted anise (YUCK), only added a pinch of fennel seed, used 1/2 smoked paprika and 1/2 regular paprika (will go with all smoked next time). I also slightly increased the amount of hot pepper flakes. Will NEVER use store bought sausage again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Just what I was looking for! They just don't make decent sausage in Asia...but this makes me feel right at home. I scaled down the recipe for 1 lb pork and thought everything was perfect except the red pepper flakes--I'll add a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tai Tam, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Best Sausage ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe is as near to my family's recipe as I've ever seen. Sorry to see it go public.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Really an excellent recipe as it is using simple ingredients from the spice shelf. If you like a little hotter, add more pepper flakes, more anise or fennel add a bit more.. but of all the recipes I have tried over the years.. this one beats them all! Thank you Jim for posting this recipe. It will be one that is now in the family recipe books forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I skip the oil and use fresh garlic instead of dried or garlic salt. This recipe is otherwise similar to another homemade Italian sausage recipe I use. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Pretty good. I ended up adding using garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and adding more red pepper and salt. I reduced the Anise and Fennel by 1/3. Everyone liked it for eating as sausage patties this way. Will try it on Pizza next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States