Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Scaled recipe back to 4 servings to make one pound. It wasn't hot and spicy, which is what I wanted and knocked it down 1 star, but it is a GREAT regular Italian Sausage recipe with 5 stars. I fried it in bulk after allowing to sit for 24 hours to add to my homemade pizza chili. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. I downsized it to make two lbs. at a time by proportioning each ingredient. Also added one Tbls. of cider vinegar, really boosts it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I have a scaled down version of my own.5lbs ground pork.3 tbl kosher salt. 2 tsp black pepper. 1 tbl granulated garlic. 1 tbl paprika 1tbl italian seasoning 1tbl + 2tsp fennel the two tsp fennel in spice grinder.2 tsp ground coriander 2 tbl crushed red pepper. Mix all spices together first then mix into ground pork. Let flavors blend fpr at least 24 hours. I vacuum seal mine into portions.. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is very nice. I downsized it to 3 pounds pork, ground it on the KA stand-mixer, then stuffed links with the sausage accessory and casing from a local butcher. We ruptured a couple casings from too-high a drive speed, set the speed to 1, then hand-advanced the meat, which worked fine. I like more flavor than this recipe provides. I decided to omit anise, since fennel has licorice flavor, and added some other things: For four pounds of meat. Include fat, or trim it off. 6 garlic cloves 2 white onions, run through the KA meat grinder Basil, rosemary, thyme, oregano, flat parsley, red bell pepper, fine chopped or food-processor macerated, optionally run through the KA meat grinder to crush and release juices, or mortar and pestle. A little nutmeg. A little cumin and coriander whole seeds, freshly ground. Salt to taste. (The suggestion to make a little meatball and cook it makes great sense, to gauge how much salt is needed, completely safely.) These are suggestions. You should figure out what tastes good to you and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good but could use some work. I cut the servings Waaaay back first off because I was not willing to risk that much should we not like the sausage. The seasoning is too light, it needs to be doubled. We prefer lots of heat so we used even more of the crushed red pepper. (we grow and dry our own) I do suggest as the recipe indicates, to let the flavors mellow 24 hours then make a test meatball. We did this twice so we could adjust the spices. Another tip is to not pack the casings too full as I did. Some of them broke open during baking. They held their shape but I wanted them *perfect*. Dont over stuff to avoid this. I added fresh herbs from my garden of oregano, basil and parsley. I used fresh garlic and no garlic salt. I subbed veg oil with EVOO. Using my changes and additions I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a little too salty as written. I will try again with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
i love italian sausage, this well same alot of money . i can't wait to try it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
As an old school Italian, there isn't nearly enough spice for 20 lbs of pork. Surprised you can get any flavor at all. I've modified several times and I'm getting close to what I consider real Italian hot sausage from the neighborhood. Good spices, just needs a little help. Try this: * cut back to 3-4 lbs of pork (grind your own) * 1/2 tsp salt, * 1 tbs garlic salt, * 1/2 tsp pepper, * 1 tbs paprika, * 1/4 C olive oil, * 1/2 tbs anise , * 2 tbs fennel seed, (fennel is porks best friend) * 1 tbs red pepper Trick: after is sets overnight, fry up a meatball of it and check its flavor. Add what you think it needs and set it overnight again. If it's fresh you should be able to do this several times before you have to freeze it or cook it. Vinnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a great recipe. I had the butcher at our local market grind the pork for me so I knew there was little fat. Very versatile recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very tasty. I scaled it down to use with 1 lb of sausage. Not very spicy which was good, but VERY tasty. Will use this recipe as my standard and when I want it hotter, I'll use more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carri Villella Levitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States