Hot Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I'm an old school Italian too and I tried Vinnie-Bag-O-donuts adjustments and I have to say, listen to this guy. he's got it nailed.. I made it his way and now my wife thinks I'm a god! Thanks Vinnie! You saved me allot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Recipe was really soft tasting, it was like the polish version of an italian sausage recipe given to them watered down. I doubled all spices accept reg. salt,tripled garlic salt,i had halved ingredients for 7 lbs, added a 1/4 cup granulated garlic for the hell of it, I'm Italian! Accidently added a 1/4 cup of chile de arbol powder thinking it was my paprika, its hot! So I got real hot italian sausage! original recipe was good as a burger recipe tho! but not for much of anything else In my opinion, others may vary! So eat whatever version you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I found this very bland. For each 5 lb of pork, I ended up adding 2 tbsp salt, 2 tbsp black pepper, 2 tbsp crushed red pepper, 1 heaped tbsp ground fennel, and 1 tbsp granulated garlic. For regular Italian sausage I halved the crushed red pepper and omitted the garlic. I found it helpful to freeze the pork for about 30 minutes before grinding. Also, cook a little of the mix after adding the seasoning to test the taste. You can always add more of something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Just like the butcher 60 years ago made back in Gatchell Ont. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Rocks if you increase all the spicess !!!! I use ground beef and it is. Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I needed to pinch hit to turn plain ground turkey into spicy sausage for my soup. This was delicious! I downscaled the recipe to 1 lb. All of the ingredients are important, including the anise and fennel seeds, which I bought in bulk at my local store with bulk spice section. I used it immediately, rather than let it sit for 24 hours, and for this purpose it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe makes exquisite sausage. Really, very tasty and satisfying. I had to change the ratio of ingredients a bit, but all in all, this is our new sausage recipe! I scaled the recipe down to 10 pounds of sausage, so if you're halving it, here is what I used. Super simple to remember. And as a side note, some of the reviewers stated that it wasn't spiced enough, so I made these changes based upon their reviews. - 2 Tbl Salt - 2 Tbl granulated garlic - 2 Tbl ground black pepper - 2 Tbl paprika - 2 Tbl fennel seed, lightly toasted and ground - 1 Tbl red pepper flakes (2 if you're feeling adventurous)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made a smaller version (5lbs) of this. Doubled the spices to make it fit our tastes. Very yummy! I use these in several recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Scaled recipe back to 4 servings to make one pound. It wasn't hot and spicy, which is what I wanted and knocked it down 1 star, but it is a GREAT regular Italian Sausage recipe with 5 stars. I fried it in bulk after allowing to sit for 24 hours to add to my homemade pizza chili. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. I downsized it to make two lbs. at a time by proportioning each ingredient. Also added one Tbls. of cider vinegar, really boosts it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States