Hot Italian Giardiniera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
In order to home can this you can't water bath, you'd have to pressure can it since it's low acid. Anyone have data otherwise. Otherwise you could be setting yourself up for botulism, which is undetectable and fatal more than 50% of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Archer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I don't think I've ever actually rated a recipe, but this is just too good to ignore. Absolutely class. I made it for the first barbecue of the year to have with sausages, but have since paired it with a cheese sandwich, an omelette, klobasa and today added some to my gobi aloo. Is that allowed? If I ate cornflakes I think I'd be adding a couple of spoonfuls to them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
[FIRST TIME:] I let it sit for most of a day before trying it for the first time... and now I can't stop eating it!! [MANY MOONS LATER:] It's been forever since I made this the first time, and have been looking forward to having the time and workspace to do it again. Reading another review and remembering my first batch, I did a little research. Safflower oil ought not to solidify in the fridge. I'll let you know in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Yummy! I did modify it a little. Used one large green and one large red pepper, 2 large serrano peppers thinly sliced instead of jalapenos, 2 celery, 3 carrots, 1 1/2 cups cauliflower, 3 large cloves garlic, 1 tsp Mexican oregano, 1 1/4 cups cider vinegar, 1/2 cup canola oil & 1/4 cup water. Omitted the olives because husband doesn't like them. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Fantastic!! The only change I made was to use 5 jalapenos. The peppers I had were very hot. This makes a ton!! Husband really enjoyed it as did I. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyful_Mamma
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Man this stuff is really good.... on just about everything. My favorite combo is to just use carrots, serrano peppers, and celery to mimic the traditional Chicago Italian Beef topping that my husband has gotten me hooked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious! Just make sure to wear gloves when chopping jalapenos. It was my first time cutting peppers and my hands were left burning! Also make sure to wash the salt well off of the vegetables. The second time I made a batch I didn't. I also didn't add any oil so it would be diet friendly, and I can't see a reason you'd need to. Great healthy snack and awesome ontop of a pastrami sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great Giardiniera recipe! Excellent on sandwiches and salads. Good with crackers or Italian bread as well. It's eaten with a vengeance at my house and the fact that it's healthy is the icing on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very Nice! Been nursing some sport pepper plants just to make a giardiniera in Dallas, TX. Really hard to find the authentic flavor from chitown that I grew up with. This is it! We made short work of emptying the first jar. Looking forward to picking the next batch of peppers so we can make some more! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This stuff is awesome, I toned down the heat a bit because my wife is from St Louis and doesn't do HEAT. One of the other reviews said they thought it could not be canned successfully at home; but I'd differ. There is more than enough salt and acid in this recipe to prevent botulinim from growing. Other Giardiniera has less vinegar and probably wouldn't be safe but this one is acid. Again thanks for posting. I've been away from Chitown for too long. Now if someone would just post a kickin Olive Salad recipe (i.e. Dominic's), life would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States