Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
Great sandwich, although it would taste even better with shaved ham. Wasn't a real big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
To up this recipe to a 5 star rating: Buy a package of small sandwich rolls (actually they're dinner rolls) that are baked but are not separated. Slice the whole thing in half, horizontally. Spread first w/butter, then w/mustard, then w/mayonnaise. Cover with sliced or chipped ham, and swiss or American cheese. Wrap in foil. Place in 300 degree oven (preheated) for 15-20 minutes. Unwrap. Cool slightly. Then place on wood cutting board and cut with sharp knife. Great w/soup or as a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
While my boyfriend was in charge of our pasta lunch, my roommate was in charge of the sandwiches-this recipe (with NO supervision by myself). I'm pretty proud b/c I came back from a walk with my daughter and lunch was ready! These rock! Although they are similar to another ham & cheese sandwich recipe found on this site, the horseradish mustard, dill and swiss make this different (more kick). My roommate used hoagie buns instead of hamburger buns and used a combination of deli-sliced swiss and colby (or Linda-should I say deilitem? :)). Baked to perfection, these made for a great outdoor picnic on our patio! Thanks Lois for the new twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I had something similar to these years ago at a friends. I had always wanted the recipe. I used dinner rolls as one reviewer suggested and added a bit of mayonnaise to the mix as well. Left out onions and dill to make kid friendly. They were delicious. My friend always had some unbaked in the freezer for a quick meal, so I'm going to try and freeze - we will see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My oh my, if you only knew. I pretty much HATE the smell of swiss cheese so therefore shy away from it (unless it's a sandwich from a resturant..eg: a rueben). Well I had some extra swiss from a different recipe along with every thing else on hand to make these EXCELLENT sandwiches. I used left over "French rolls to die for" from this site and these were great, my picky 11 year old even wanted more. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
These made a quick and tasty lunch for my son and I today. I used small hamburger buns and added some black pepper and celery salt to the butter mixture. My bread turned out a little dry on the outside, but didn't take away from the taste. I'm sure you could play around with the butter mixutre...maybe adding herbs or mayo. Either way these were good. Thanks for sharing Lois.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I did mine with heat & serve dinner rolls. I put them all in a glass dish and covered them with foil for 30 min. and everyone said "they were great."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very tasty make sure you eat them fast while they are warm because they get cold fast. MMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent, despite seemingly weird ingredients. I did substitute dijon mustard. I prepared, wrapped, bagged and froze the sandwiches, and the family who got them loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
My husband really enjoyed these, but I was a little put off by the dressing. All I could taste was butter and dill. I'll make these again, just experiment with the dressing. I made them open-face on a split sourdough baguette and baked them in the oven as instructed for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States