Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I had something similar to these years ago at a friends. I had always wanted the recipe. I used dinner rolls as one reviewer suggested and added a bit of mayonnaise to the mix as well. Left out onions and dill to make kid friendly. They were delicious. My friend always had some unbaked in the freezer for a quick meal, so I'm going to try and freeze - we will see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
While my boyfriend was in charge of our pasta lunch, my roommate was in charge of the sandwiches-this recipe (with NO supervision by myself). I'm pretty proud b/c I came back from a walk with my daughter and lunch was ready! These rock! Although they are similar to another ham & cheese sandwich recipe found on this site, the horseradish mustard, dill and swiss make this different (more kick). My roommate used hoagie buns instead of hamburger buns and used a combination of deli-sliced swiss and colby (or Linda-should I say deilitem? :)). Baked to perfection, these made for a great outdoor picnic on our patio! Thanks Lois for the new twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My oh my, if you only knew. I pretty much HATE the smell of swiss cheese so therefore shy away from it (unless it's a sandwich from a resturant..eg: a rueben). Well I had some extra swiss from a different recipe along with every thing else on hand to make these EXCELLENT sandwiches. I used left over "French rolls to die for" from this site and these were great, my picky 11 year old even wanted more. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent, despite seemingly weird ingredients. I did substitute dijon mustard. I prepared, wrapped, bagged and froze the sandwiches, and the family who got them loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I did mine with heat & serve dinner rolls. I put them all in a glass dish and covered them with foil for 30 min. and everyone said "they were great."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Definitely a hit with the family! DH and kids both commented on the tasty butter/mustard/poppy seed sauce. I love how SIMPLE these sandwiches are. I plan to make lots of these ahead of time and pop in the freezer for a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These sandwiches are excellant and could not be easier. After 20 minutes I opened up the tin foil on each and allowed the sandwiches to continue to bake. (to get the rolls crispy on the outside)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very tasty make sure you eat them fast while they are warm because they get cold fast. MMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
If you are short on time, but want something quick and easy with a cool twist--these sandwiches will do the trick! The sauce mixture, though simple and easy, is SUPERB. I will remember this sauce for other applications down the road. Besides warmth, which is quite appropriate on a late fall day, the oven provides these sandwiches with just a touch of crustiness. A great twist on and old standby. And delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Delicious! I'm not a huge ham fan...but I will be buying it more often just to make this sandwich! It is superb....enjoyed by all in the family and requested often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States