Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
While my boyfriend was in charge of our pasta lunch, my roommate was in charge of the sandwiches-this recipe (with NO supervision by myself). I'm pretty proud b/c I came back from a walk with my daughter and lunch was ready! These rock! Although they are similar to another ham & cheese sandwich recipe found on this site, the horseradish mustard, dill and swiss make this different (more kick). My roommate used hoagie buns instead of hamburger buns and used a combination of deli-sliced swiss and colby (or Linda-should I say deilitem? :)). Baked to perfection, these made for a great outdoor picnic on our patio! Thanks Lois for the new twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I did mine with heat & serve dinner rolls. I put them all in a glass dish and covered them with foil for 30 min. and everyone said "they were great."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Definitely a hit with the family! DH and kids both commented on the tasty butter/mustard/poppy seed sauce. I love how SIMPLE these sandwiches are. I plan to make lots of these ahead of time and pop in the freezer for a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My oh my, if you only knew. I pretty much HATE the smell of swiss cheese so therefore shy away from it (unless it's a sandwich from a resturant..eg: a rueben). Well I had some extra swiss from a different recipe along with every thing else on hand to make these EXCELLENT sandwiches. I used left over "French rolls to die for" from this site and these were great, my picky 11 year old even wanted more. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very tasty make sure you eat them fast while they are warm because they get cold fast. MMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These sandwiches are excellant and could not be easier. After 20 minutes I opened up the tin foil on each and allowed the sandwiches to continue to bake. (to get the rolls crispy on the outside)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I had something similar to these years ago at a friends. I had always wanted the recipe. I used dinner rolls as one reviewer suggested and added a bit of mayonnaise to the mix as well. Left out onions and dill to make kid friendly. They were delicious. My friend always had some unbaked in the freezer for a quick meal, so I'm going to try and freeze - we will see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent, despite seemingly weird ingredients. I did substitute dijon mustard. I prepared, wrapped, bagged and froze the sandwiches, and the family who got them loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
If you are short on time, but want something quick and easy with a cool twist--these sandwiches will do the trick! The sauce mixture, though simple and easy, is SUPERB. I will remember this sauce for other applications down the road. Besides warmth, which is quite appropriate on a late fall day, the oven provides these sandwiches with just a touch of crustiness. A great twist on and old standby. And delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Delicious! I'm not a huge ham fan...but I will be buying it more often just to make this sandwich! It is superb....enjoyed by all in the family and requested often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States