Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
To up this recipe to a 5 star rating: Buy a package of small sandwich rolls (actually they're dinner rolls) that are baked but are not separated. Slice the whole thing in half, horizontally. Spread first w/butter, then w/mustard, then w/mayonnaise. Cover with sliced or chipped ham, and swiss or American cheese. Wrap in foil. Place in 300 degree oven (preheated) for 15-20 minutes. Unwrap. Cool slightly. Then place on wood cutting board and cut with sharp knife. Great w/soup or as a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I love the combination of ham and swiss so I had to try these. The horseradish definitely gives these a nice "kick". Perfect with a bowl of tomato soup for a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Wow These were really good. The sauce was awesome. I made this recipe exactly as is. We decided next time it would be better to use sourdough bread. We are going to try buttering the bread and broiling it to make it toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
My oh my, if you only knew. I pretty much HATE the smell of swiss cheese so therefore shy away from it (unless it's a sandwich from a resturant..eg: a rueben). Well I had some extra swiss from a different recipe along with every thing else on hand to make these EXCELLENT sandwiches. I used left over "French rolls to die for" from this site and these were great, my picky 11 year old even wanted more. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
Great sandwich, although it would taste even better with shaved ham. Wasn't a real big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I've been making these sandwiches with rave reviews for 10 years with a couple (major) changes...use regular prepared yellow mustard, leave out the dill seed & use a slice of Velveeta processed cheese (cut thick from a loaf) instead of the swiss. You will be making these all the time...trust me!! Oh, & they freeze really well...just wrap each sandwich up in tinfoil after assembling and freeze them in large ziplock bags to pull out for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a super simple but delicious sandwich! I make my own horeseradish mustard (equal parts horseradish and dijon mustard for what I would call spicy, less horesradish if you don't like it as spicy) and spread that on both sides of the inside of the bun. Also I don't use the butter or dill seed and they are still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
These made a quick and tasty lunch for my son and I today. I used small hamburger buns and added some black pepper and celery salt to the butter mixture. My bread turned out a little dry on the outside, but didn't take away from the taste. I'm sure you could play around with the butter mixutre...maybe adding herbs or mayo. Either way these were good. Thanks for sharing Lois.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
While my boyfriend was in charge of our pasta lunch, my roommate was in charge of the sandwiches-this recipe (with NO supervision by myself). I'm pretty proud b/c I came back from a walk with my daughter and lunch was ready! These rock! Although they are similar to another ham & cheese sandwich recipe found on this site, the horseradish mustard, dill and swiss make this different (more kick). My roommate used hoagie buns instead of hamburger buns and used a combination of deli-sliced swiss and colby (or Linda-should I say deilitem? :)). Baked to perfection, these made for a great outdoor picnic on our patio! Thanks Lois for the new twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Hubby enjoyed this sandwich. I added some sliced dill pickle and used dill weed instead of the seed. Didn't have any poppy seeds on hand, but it didn't seem to matter. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States