Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is EXACTLY the recipe I use when making German Potato Salad and it never lasts long at parties. Even though it is very unhealthy for you (considering the sauce IS the bacon grease...), it is still so delicious. I was hoping to find a similar recipe to what I use at home, and I am happy to find the exact same ingredients in yours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Filling, tasty comfort food. I like this, but not everyone I've served it to does. Guess it's just one of those things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome!! Just made this for our Oktoberfest party last night. Everyone loved it and so did I! Made it just as the recipe says and used red potatoes. Solid authentic tasting German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe was really good. It gets much better after standing for a few hours. The sauce was a little thicker than I expected so I thinned it a smidge with water. I think I will add a little less flour and a little less vinegar next time as the sour part slightly overwhelmed the sweet. More bacon crumbles too as these really add the salty kick to perk up the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is the salad recipe that I am most often asked to bring to potlucks. We prefer it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by klancelle
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Very Yummy and very authentic! I was born and raised in Germany. You can order something like this in many resaturants in Bavaria. I used only half the bacon drippings, 1 teaspoon of salt and upped the onions to 1 cup. Also added a handful of chopped italian parsley for color. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klancelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I usually have to double the batch because it disappears so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Finally! A classic german potato salad recipe. It is the celery seed that gives this salad its authentic flair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is an amazing recipe...everyone in my family loves it. The only thing is that I make a lot more sauce so that the salad is moist and not dry. Instead of celery seed I use whole mustard seed. And, I never add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We make this recipe often and it's always a hit! It has a great zip to it with the apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States