Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
bibi: It says sliced..... Drain, cool and slice thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Hot German potato salad MUST contain sliced potatoes, not cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It was good, I dont think I will make alot but worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt (and cut back on the other salt), and it was great. My husband said it rivaled the Hot German Potato Salad at our favorite local German Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I altered the recipe slightly in order to cook it in a Crock pot, but my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Holy Hanna did this hit the spot! Just the right sweet & sour mix. The only thing I did different was I baked the potatoes, then peeled and sliced them - once they were cool enough to handle. Once you've had baked potato salad you realize how much flavor is lost by boiling. Other than that small change it was perfect. For those that prefer a moister salad (think consistency of the super market) by all means you will need to double up on the "dressing" portion...as for myself and family we liked it as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Made this by following the recipe exactly, except I ended up adding extra bacon for good measure, and used only 7 out of the 9 potatoes I cooked. I was afraid it wouldn't be saucy enough. It really just depends on the size of the potatoes, but Germans like it saucy. I'm not german, but live in Germany and my friend whose family is from Austria said it tasted just like the potato salad they always make. Except they serve it cold and without the bacon, but I know Germans do it this way (hot and with bacon). I did try it cold but preferred it hot. I wanted to use apple cider vinegar instead of white, but decided to stick to the recipe exactly. Next time I will try the cider vinegar to make it a little milder, but only because I'm not a fan of vinegar in the first place, unlike Germans. Point is, this recipe is authentic, I made it successfully, and I've never even made any kind of potato salad before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Just like Grandma's!!! I recommend substituting apple cider vinegar, though. And I use golden potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is EXACTLY the recipe I use when making German Potato Salad and it never lasts long at parties. Even though it is very unhealthy for you (considering the sauce IS the bacon grease...), it is still so delicious. I was hoping to find a similar recipe to what I use at home, and I am happy to find the exact same ingredients in yours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Filling, tasty comfort food. I like this, but not everyone I've served it to does. Guess it's just one of those things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States