Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
my husband and I decided to make a German meal tonight, something we have never done, and I came across this recipe. It turned out GREAT! We actually both agreed that maybe it had a little too much bacon and plan on cutting back next time, but aside from that, we will definitely be making this again! Great Oktoberfest menu item!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We really liked this recipe! I used 1/2 the sugar and no celery seed and it was wonderful! I usually only make true german potato salad, but this was a very refreshing change and an excellent cold weather dish. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Super good! I used 8 medium red potatoes and thought it was just the right amount for the sauce. My recommendations would be to add a few tablespoons more vinegar and make sure the potatoes are completely cool when you slice them. Next time I will be making mine ahead of time and refrigerating them so they're easier to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This looks very good but I think I'll stick to my centuries old one that I finally allowed to be published in my new church cookbook. I use 5 lbs. (exactly) of red potatoes and dice them quite large (they do shrink up when adding sauce). Also, after doing the bacon (same amt. and crumble same way), and sauteeing the 3/4 c. onions, I add 3/4 cup sugar (now use Splenda). Stir until almost melted. Then add 1 tsp. mustard, or more to taste and 2 T. flour. Stir thoroughly. Then add 1 c. white vinegar (I use anything but Heinz) and 1 c. water. These two items must be exact. Then I add 1 c. chopped celerg and salt and pepper to taste. Add crumbled bacon. Stir until thickened and cooked down to desired thickness. Pour over peeled and diced potatoes and mix thoroughly. Allow to stand for 15 minutes. Must be served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. However, I have one thing to add as told to me by my German neighbor. The key to a good German Potato Salad is to NOT sautee the onions. Chop them fairly small and add them to the final cooking time. They add a little burst of crunch and taste. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
bibi: It says sliced..... Drain, cool and slice thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Hot German potato salad MUST contain sliced potatoes, not cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It was good, I dont think I will make alot but worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt (and cut back on the other salt), and it was great. My husband said it rivaled the Hot German Potato Salad at our favorite local German Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I altered the recipe slightly in order to cook it in a Crock pot, but my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States