Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe. It gets 4.5 stars as written. I used half the potatos called for because it was just the 2 of us. Definitely use reds. Did not halve the sauce ingredients as suggested by others. The next time I make it I will increase the sauce ingredients even more because my husband compares every German Potato Salad recipe I make, to the canned version, because that is his fav. This recipe is really a wonderful fresh version of that. We both really liked it. I will never have to eat the canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Yum. I have used this recipe now about 4 times, and I love it! Small changes that I make are to add two TBSP chopped green onions toward the end of cooking for enhanced color, and I use 1 tbsp only of chopped real bacon bits (instead of fresh bacon) to simplify. I also do not use the celery seeds. Both white and apple cider vinegar work well. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this for an Octoberfest dinner at a friends,and everyone loved it.I do agree that it needs to have the sauce doubled, also,I cut down a bit on the salt.It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
UPDATE: I THINK I KNOW WHY MY FIRST ATTEMPT WAS BLAND AND DRY. TEQUILLA DOES NOT SPECIFY WHAT SIZE OF POTATOES TO USE. HAD I GIVEN IT SOME THOUGHT (AND A GOOD DOSE OF COMMON SENSE HAHA), I WOULD HAVE REALIZED THAT SINCE MY POTATOES WERE QUITE LARGE, I'D NEED TO AT LEAST DOUBLE THE SAUCE TO COMPENSATE. THIS TIME AROUND, I WAS SURE TO USE SMALLER POTATOES AND ADD A GOOD DOES OF S&P TO FINISH - PERFECT! THE KEY IS ENSURE THAT YOUR POTATOES ARE EVENLY COVERED (NO NEED TO DROWN THEM BUT FEEL FREE TO DOUBLE THE SAUCE IF NEED BE) AND SEASON TO TASTE BEFORE SERVING. THIS IS NOW A WINNER IN MY BOOK! Not bad. I've had better, but then again I didn't expect this to be as good as my local German restaurant's potato salad. Both my hubs and I found this to be good but a tad bland. After sneaking just one bite, I knew I needed to s&p to taste. I added a GENEROUS dose of both and still felt something was missing. I then added another 1/4 t of celery seed and a T more vinegar (my potatoes seemed a bit dry without it). I even let the flavors blend for a half hour while my hubs grilled our brats. Still bland. :( Ironically enough, my neighbor liked this better lukewarm (I gave her half of what was left), so I'm hoping I will too. Thanks anyways, Tequilla! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made these because I remember my Mom making it often for my Dad back in the 70's. I remember hating them and wishing she made mashed instead. Made them to go along with the Sauerbraten recipe I also ma from this site. The taste was the same except now I kinda like them. Its deffinately a different taste from scallop or augraten but a nice change, give em a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this last year for our Octoberfest Party and was asked to bring it again. I did make one mistake in the recipe,that I will repeat. I used 3/4 cups of cider vinegar and 1/3 cup of water. That was a great Oops. I also used red potatoes and left the skins on for ease of preparation. I kept it warm in my slow cooker. It was a perfect side for the brats the host served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This turned out very well despite the fact that I messed up on following the directions. I didn't change the ingredients though -- it was great and everyone loved it. Was a nice complement to my roast pork. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious! I have made this several times and even told one of my friends to make it for his family. Everyone loves this. To make it more authentic, use beef broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Good flavor, but more specifics would definitely help. I made it without reading many reviews the first time. This is the second time... DEFINITELY use waxy potatoes. I tried russets the first time and they fell apart. Used white rose this time and they fell apart, too. I'll try reds next time, as well as not boiling for 30 minutes. And I agree with another reviewer that the sauce-to-potato ratio is low. I only used 7 small-medium sized potatoes with this batch, and had I used 9, there would not have been enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Great recipe! Very authentic! Triple sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisacg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States