Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
The flavor was fabulous - though I might make a little more sauce next time to coat the potatoes more. And I WAY overcooked my potatoes so the end result was a bit on the mushy side. Still yummy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
As I have never tried German potato salad I didnt have a flavor palet to judge by. I was a bit scared of the ingredients, but the final product was good. I cant say it was great because I wasnt mpressed with the flavors, however my Boy friend said it tasted just as he remembered it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is exactly the one that I have been making for years. It is a family favorite with a few changes. I use cider vinegar and always double the bacon and sauce; I also use red skin potatoes and videlia onions. I've even made it hours before the party and just put into the oven for a half hour to reheat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton Square, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is so easy to make, and so delicious. Just as good as in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
As a german potato salad, it was good made as directed. The big surprise, however, was finding out how tasty the leftovers are when fried up nice and crisp as a breakfast side. I would make this again just to get the german-style homefries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I made the potato salad as written. I do agree that you need to double the sauce. It tasted just like I remember! Made it again and used 7 potatoes instead of 9. Did not double the sauce. Just right! Also, I used unpeeled red potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Wasn't so sure about this the first time I was making it - EVERYONE LOVES IT - this has become a family treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe. It gets 4.5 stars as written. I used half the potatos called for because it was just the 2 of us. Definitely use reds. Did not halve the sauce ingredients as suggested by others. The next time I make it I will increase the sauce ingredients even more because my husband compares every German Potato Salad recipe I make, to the canned version, because that is his fav. This recipe is really a wonderful fresh version of that. We both really liked it. I will never have to eat the canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Yum. I have used this recipe now about 4 times, and I love it! Small changes that I make are to add two TBSP chopped green onions toward the end of cooking for enhanced color, and I use 1 tbsp only of chopped real bacon bits (instead of fresh bacon) to simplify. I also do not use the celery seeds. Both white and apple cider vinegar work well. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this for an Octoberfest dinner at a friends,and everyone loved it.I do agree that it needs to have the sauce doubled, also,I cut down a bit on the salt.It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States