Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This was a very good patato salad. I've never tried it hot before. Just a suggestion...use red potatoes because they don't fall apart as easily as brown potatoes. It still tastes good when the potatoes are crumbled put if you're looking for presentation points I'd use red!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Super!!!! I am just getting around to rating this and thank you submitter. I have served this many, many times and there is never enough. Currently it's my favorite item to bring to parties. I do add more bacon (because we love bacon) and I make more sauce than called for but no one can go wrong with your directions. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My dad was saying it's been years since he had German potato salad and he really missed it,so I thought I would try my hand at this and surprise him. Wow! Was it good! I boiled my potatoes with skin on,and peeled and sliced when they cooled down a bit(much easier.) I used less potatoes than called for, 8oz. package of bacon,3/4 cup onion and doubled the rest. I like lots of sauce so I gradually added my potatoes to my liking,you can use leftovers for hash browns. Thanks Tequila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Delicious! I'm a big fan of German potato salad, and this one certainly didn't disappoint. What's great is the addition of the celery seed, gives it a tiny little crunch but a ton of flavor. I always use cider vinegar rather than white but don't know if that makes a huge taste difference...maybe a bit mellower. I quartered the potatoes to cook them, then made it easy on myself and sliced them with an egg slicer. Perfect size. Also, just before serving, I topped it with a handful of minced fresh parsley which gave it a wonderful fresh flavor boost. This was a great side to my grilled brats from the German butcher. Thanks, Tequila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Excellent! Very good my husband loved it, though it needs to be a ,little clearer on what sized potatoes I used pretty large ones not thinking it would be too much next time I will use smaller potatoes.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I am full German and I found this to be very true to form. Loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Just like Mom used to make when I was a kid, because my father wouldn't allow "that mayonnaise abomination in the house". I left out the flower because I have a wheat allergy and it came out just great, the trick was letting it sit on the stove for about a half hour after I mixed everything together, and letting the potatoes soak up all the flavor. I cubed it instead of sliced the potatoes because that's what I am used to, and I was searching for a recipe like my mom used to make. This is the real deal, and got the thumbs up from central texas Germans at my Oktoberfest party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a mediocre recipe; it would serve as a good base to try, then alter to your own liking. I found the proportions to be off. The "dressing" made by this recipe was enough for 6 medium sized potatoes (not 9). As a result, the salad was enough for about 7 or 8 conservative servings (not 12). I was surprised to see that one reviewer suggested using less vinegar. I thought the salad was rather bland and needed 2-4 more tablespoons of vinegar (I like a German potato salad that makes you pucker!). Not a complete loss, but not the 5-star recipe I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe duplicates that delicious potato salad you can usually only get in German restaurants. I loved it and have already made it three times. It goes well with anything, from burgers to bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is exactly the same as the handwritten recipe I received from my German born grandmother 30 years ago before she passed away. She had made notes on it about the ingredients (ie: use approx. 3 pounds of potatoes, cider vinegar not white, a bit more bacon if available, boil potatoes whole and slice, use red potatoes, use a bit of brown sugar). She added more liquid (if it was too thick) more vinegar (if it wasn't tart enough), etc. She always made adjustments according to the circumstances. I have added my own twists - like a pinch of dry mustard for a tiny bite and stirred in chopped chives or scallions at the end for a burst of flavor. Her final note was " start here for good potato salad." It has all the basics you need to make a great Hot German Potato salad - so this is indeed - a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States