Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made this last night for the first time. It turned out so well, my guy scarfed it up and requested more for tonight! Used cider vinegar rather than distilled but that's just a personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Montgomery, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
still can't believe I love this so much! Couldn't find my "warm potato salad & bacon" recipe so I found this in a pinch. Wasn't crazy about adding flour and sugar... but decided to try it anyway since I needed a side and was looking for something similar. It turned out great. I keep making it again and again. The first time I made it, I boiled the potatoes... but ever since I bake them in the oven while cooking up the bacon. My favorite is small finger potatoes cut into chunks, baked at 400 for 20 minute (use a little olive oil to prevent sticking) then just add to the mixture in a pot on the stove. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Been using this recipe since 2002, a little slow in rating. This is one of my favorite recipes. The flavor combination is excellent. It is great warm and leftover. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was wonderful but had to double the sauce. Also had to add a little brown sugar like another review said to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
very good German potato salad... tasted excellent... however the potatoes I used were on the drier side of things and crumbled... they also soaked up a lot of the water and vinegar mixture... next time I have dry potatoes I will definitely add more water and vinegar maybe even double it... but otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Super easy and yummy. Make sure to salt the potato water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe is delicious. This reminds me of the hot german potato salad my Austrian mother would make. I suggest doubling the flour, sugar, salt etc and accordingly doubling the vinegar & water. I have made this recipe with 50% apple cider & 50% white balsamic vinegar & this gives it a nice tart taste. Like my mother I add caraway seeds at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was soooo good! Just the right amount of tang. I would probably drain a little bacon grease off next time, otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States