Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Boil time for potatoes is WAY TOO long....they were mush. Leaving skins on might have helped or using LARGE potatoes instead of average size for 30 mins of boiling. Amount of bacon, vinegar, water, and celery seed is proportioned too low with amount of potatoes---doubled it by comparing it with another recipe I found in a old cookbook. Look for another recipe and skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The kids wouldn't eat it. I thought it was ok and husband said it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a package of Simply Potatoes, the sliced variety, instead of peeling, cooking and slicing my own. The sauce was enough for the amount of potatoes in the package. Using this shortcut made the recipe very easy. My husband has been asking for german potatoes but every recipe I have seen before just seems too time consuming. We both loved the recipe and I will be serving him his German potatoes on a regular basis now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this for years and didn't realize I never rated it! I double the sauce, use cider vinegar instead of white, a ton more bacon (we are bacon lovers) and use half celery seed/half celery flakes. I lost my German great-grandmother's recipe and with my tweaks on this recipe it is the same as hers. Another thing...I always, always, always throw this together and put it in a slow (225F) oven for a few hours, give or take. It really melds the flavors, I try to make this the day before I want it because it's always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Sauce and bacon need to be doubled , otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I half the sugar, but otherwise remain true to the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
5 stars- My husband is part German, I am not at all but he absolutely DEVOURS this every time I make it. On the occasion there is any leftover, it tastes even better the next day. This is divine warm or cold and can be served along many different entrees. Only thing I do different is double the bacon-actually I use a whole package. If you can get Hormel Maple flavored black label bacon , even better. Always use red bliss potatoes too. Thinking about this now and I want some bad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe but I also didn't have enough of the sauce. It was dry so I made another batch and added it to my potatoes. I also would cut back on the celery seed. Just my preference. Would make it again but double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. I gave it 4 stars because as written it is a little off on portions. I looked at several of the other comments and decided to double the "sauce" and I used more bacon but that's just because we like bacon around here. It was perfect! We even warmed it up for lunch the next day and I thought it was even better warmed up. Be careful not to over cook your potatoes though. It's much easier to mix if they arent mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carie Mottweiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
As others mentioned need to double the sauce and use red potatoes so they hold together well. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States