Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
5 stars- My husband is part German, I am not at all but he absolutely DEVOURS this every time I make it. On the occasion there is any leftover, it tastes even better the next day. This is divine warm or cold and can be served along many different entrees. Only thing I do different is double the bacon-actually I use a whole package. If you can get Hormel Maple flavored black label bacon , even better. Always use red bliss potatoes too. Thinking about this now and I want some bad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe but I also didn't have enough of the sauce. It was dry so I made another batch and added it to my potatoes. I also would cut back on the celery seed. Just my preference. Would make it again but double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. I gave it 4 stars because as written it is a little off on portions. I looked at several of the other comments and decided to double the "sauce" and I used more bacon but that's just because we like bacon around here. It was perfect! We even warmed it up for lunch the next day and I thought it was even better warmed up. Be careful not to over cook your potatoes though. It's much easier to mix if they arent mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
As others mentioned need to double the sauce and use red potatoes so they hold together well. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Tastes EXACTLY like my mother used to make - absolutely perfect!!! Only changes I made were to use more bacon and I substituted the celery seed with celery salt because I didn't have seed in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
MMM, MMMM, MMMMMMM!!!!!! I made this for my family who loves German Potato Salad and they RAVED about it. Doubled the 'sauce' ingrediants because we like it juicy and I added a sprinkle of dill for some extra flavor because we have had it that way before. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This is a great potato salad if you're looking for something different than the traditional potato salad with mayonnaise. I like the mix of the slight vinegar flavour and the bacon. I made it exactly as the recipe outlined and it was simple but yummy. It has been a hit at many BBQs and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it many times since finding it here on Allrecipes; it tastes even better the next day. Love it cold too. This recipe reminds me of my first "true love" boyfriend and his mother made this. However, she added hard boiled eggs which I also do. Brings back fond memories both of taste and boyfriend. My husband loves it too and yes, I told him about my boyfriend's mother but not necessarily about my boyfriend. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
The flavor was fabulous - though I might make a little more sauce next time to coat the potatoes more. And I WAY overcooked my potatoes so the end result was a bit on the mushy side. Still yummy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
As I have never tried German potato salad I didnt have a flavor palet to judge by. I was a bit scared of the ingredients, but the final product was good. I cant say it was great because I wasnt mpressed with the flavors, however my Boy friend said it tasted just as he remembered it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States