Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Delicious! I cut the potatoes into chunks rather than slices since that's what I prefer and then boiled them for 15 minutes. I also added some chopped parsley at the end and let it sit and absorb the sauce for about 30 minutes as recommended by other reviewers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I had a 5lb bag of red potatoes to use up and based on the other reviews, I decided to double the sauce ( there were about 10 regular sized potatoes, not minis). Well, it was perfect! I doubled the onions too, but not the bacon and it was delicious. I added the sliced potatoes warm (no need to peel reds IMO) and they soaked up all the yummy sauce. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This has become my signature potluck dish! I make it all the time and everyone loves it. I hate mayonnaise and fell in love with the german potato salad while living in Germany, this is the closest recipe I've ever found to it. I've made a few changes though. I tend to use red potatoes rather than russets. I also tend to use apple cider vinegar rather than white vinegar. The white vinegar is fine, but the apple cider vinegar just adds a little tang, especially as I use applewood smoked bacon. I love vinegar and found the original recipe a little light on it. When I make it for myself I swap the water and vinegar ratios. I find that is a bit stronger than most people like though so when I am taking it out I use 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/2 water. This isn't quite the same amount they say to use but it's close enough. Also I never have celery seed, so I've never added it in. Be careful with the flour mixture as it can bind up really fast if you aren't careful and make the texture odd but the flavor is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Boil time for potatoes is WAY TOO long....they were mush. Leaving skins on might have helped or using LARGE potatoes instead of average size for 30 mins of boiling. Amount of bacon, vinegar, water, and celery seed is proportioned too low with amount of potatoes---doubled it by comparing it with another recipe I found in a old cookbook. Look for another recipe and skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The kids wouldn't eat it. I thought it was ok and husband said it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a package of Simply Potatoes, the sliced variety, instead of peeling, cooking and slicing my own. The sauce was enough for the amount of potatoes in the package. Using this shortcut made the recipe very easy. My husband has been asking for german potatoes but every recipe I have seen before just seems too time consuming. We both loved the recipe and I will be serving him his German potatoes on a regular basis now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this for years and didn't realize I never rated it! I double the sauce, use cider vinegar instead of white, a ton more bacon (we are bacon lovers) and use half celery seed/half celery flakes. I lost my German great-grandmother's recipe and with my tweaks on this recipe it is the same as hers. Another thing...I always, always, always throw this together and put it in a slow (225F) oven for a few hours, give or take. It really melds the flavors, I try to make this the day before I want it because it's always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Sauce and bacon need to be doubled , otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I half the sugar, but otherwise remain true to the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States